Excimer laser

Excimer laser eye surgery

(To excimers) excimer lasers are prominent in the landscape and lasers in refractive surgery: these are lasers of choice to emit powerful radiation in of short wavelengths as the ultraviolet. The photons in the ultraviolet range are more energetic than photons infra-red or visible spectrum and in fact, they can produce special effects such as the photoablation of the cornea in surgery for myopia and other ocular defects.

The excimer laser has revolutionized the refractive surgery, because he brought to this discipline a major gain in terms of precision and safety. () Excimer laser corneal refractive surgery techniquesLASIK and PKR) dominate with supremacy the landscape of surgical correction of Visual defects such as myopia, hyperopia or theastigmatism. The use of the excimer laser is thus a must for a refractive surgeon. Femto LASIK is based on the successive use of a femtosecond laser and an excimer laser.

The generalization or trivialization of this technology should not overshadow the real technological prowess and engineering allowing it, when he press the pedal of shooting, to focus with precision on the cornea an energy ultraviolet radiation, including dosage and precise distribution of this Act the most accurate surgery, all disciplines.

Today, the last generation excimer lasers can deliver the optical correction in a reduced thanks to a high frequency of shooting time (ex: 500 Hz or 500 shots per second). The following video shows the sequence of shots issued to correct myopia 10 dioptres and a myopic astigmatism of 5 diopters, on an optical area of 6.5 mm. At this rehearsal (500 Hz), a diopter is corrected in less than a second and a half. (193 nm) ultraviolet laser photons shooting is done on a disc of plastic: each impact emissions of photons in the 'blue '.

This video shows a sequence of shots excimers for correction of myopia and astigmatism... view from the camera of an iPhone positioned under the laser, in the line of fire.

In addition to medical applications, lasers excimers participate in many fields of application which have in common the need for extreme precision as the engraving of electronic circuits, the manufacturing of semiconductors, as well as biological and chemical research. The highlight of the excimer technology lies in the fact that it allows the issuance of a laser radiation in the ultraviolet (UV), where photons are more energy; the energy carried by these photons is greater than the energy of cohesion of the atoms within the molecules. A UV photon can act in a targeted way by breaking an inter atomic bond. In the case of corneal refractive surgery, this interaction will remove a very thin layer of corneal tissue with each impact.

The use of the wavelengths between 350 nm and 230nm is banned from medical applications. Indeed, lower than 230nm wavelengths, the intracellular penetration of ultraviolet radiation is limited in depth.  Beyond 350 nm, the energy of the incident photons is lower than the minimum threshold to disrupt the cell structures. It is between 230 nm and 350 nm risk changing the intracellular structures like the DNA of the nucleus is not negligible. In general, radiation whose wavelength is less than 230 nm or greater than 3 microns do not penetrate beyond a micron depth corneal.

 

Definition of the word "excimer".

The word excimer is a contraction of the term "Dimer" excited The excitation media of excimer lasers is gaseous and gas (Helium, Argon, Krypton etc.) or halides (Fluorine, bromine, etc.). The noble gases are the last column on the right in the table of periodic classification of the elements, and the penultimate halides.

These are naturally reluctant to assemble, except under certain physical conditions that must be met in the cavity laser (high pressure, electric shocks): they can then form a excited Dimer. Strictly speaking, is a Dimer of two identical atoms, and we should rather use the term "exiplexe" to characterize the Assembly of two different monomers.

 

History of the excimer laser

The first laser emitted in the utraviolet radiation was generated by a Soviet team led by NG Basov in 1970. An intense search if followed, and many laboratories realized their own in the mid-1970s excimer laser. The first commercial development was accomplished by the German company Lambda Physik in 1977, and the first applications of excimers lasers were performed in the industrial field (engraving of electronic circuits) and research.

The in-depth study and understanding of the process of photoablation (called in the publication principles of Leigh and Srinivasan ' ") Ablative Photodecomposition ('') was a milestone in the development of the excimer technology. It is said that the idea of 'work' a biological tissue was born in the mind of the American scientist employee of IBM of Indian origin Rangaswamy Srinivasan in November 1981, the day of the Thanksgiving Feast, and this at a time where he sipped family the traditional Turkey.  The next day, he submitted a piece of Turkey meat rest to the action of a 193 nm excimer laser in his lab, and was pleasantly surprised to verify that accomplished by laser radiation tissue ablation was accompanied byno visible trace of burning or specific injury. His team continued experiments on various biological tissue and found that this "own ablation" occurred consistently.

A first patent for medical applications of excimer radiation was deposited and recorded in 1988 (US patent: 4.784.135: the authors of the initial - Srinivasan, Blum and Wynne - patent have been awarded the National Medal of technological Innovation by president Barack Obama in 2012).  Many pictures attesting to the accuracy and the absence of collateral damage from the photoablatif effect of the radiation at 193 nm were produced by Srinivasan, whose sculpted one of a human hair to a depth of 50 microns.  These discoveries were amplified for the general public by the IBM company, who during an official announcement put forward applications of laser excimer for burning electronic circuits and surgery.

One of the first ophthalmologists to work with Srinivasan for implementation in eye surgery was Dr. Stephen Trokel, Associate Professor of ophthalmology at the "Columbia Presbyterian Medical Center" of New York University. A seminal paper titled "Excimer laser surgery of the cornea," (excimer laser corneal surgery) was published in 1983 by the American Journal of Ophthalmology (Trokel SL, Srinivasan B, Braren B. Excimer laser surgery of the cornea.) Am J invest, 1983; 96: 710).

Stephen Trokel

Photo taken with Stephen Trokel during the Congress of the American Academy of Ophthalmology, November 2013

The ablative precision allowed by the 193 nm radiation associated with the lack of collateral or mutagenic effect enabled the further development of a range of eye operations corrective aiming (PKR and LASIK): this application certainly is now the most popular lasers excimers, and one of the leading causes of their commercial success.

Various companies compete for refractive surgery market; In addition to VISX (acquired by the American firm Abbott) and which was the first company to manufacture in large series refractive aiming lasers in the United States, German companies Wavelight, Technolas, Schwind, Zeiss and Nidek Japanese are the main players of the market of the vision correction.

 

Excimer radiation

Excimer radiation used in refractive surgery (193 nm) is obtained from a mixture Argon and Fluorine (Ar - F).

rare gas containers

Containers containing gases that fuel the cavity of an excimer laser. Helium (He) and Neon (not) are buffer gases: Argon (Ar) and Fluorine (F2) are the parties likely to form the excited Dimer. Corrosive gas, and it is important that the distribution of the gas system is tight.

 

Rare gases such as Argon are inert elements, whose electronic levels are completely saturated. in fact, they are not the natural state of stable molecules with other elements and tend to repel. The excitement by an intense electric shock provides one of the elements (example: Argon Atom) an electron, and this charge allows him to draw and constitute a "excited Dimer" ephemeral way with a second element (ex 2 Ar + F2 → 2 ArF *). This reaction, to get the probability of encounter between these elements is high enough, which implies a high density and a high pressure in the cavity of the laser. During the separation of the Dimer, the breaking of the binding energy is produced in the form of a photon whose wavelength is located in the ultraviolet)193 nm).

The genesis of the laser radiation is special since each created Dimer molecule is excited and corresponds to a population inversion, without fundamental State. It is relatively easy to create the excited Dimer. However, this reversal must be much greater than for a 'classic' gas laser to compensate for the loss of radiation within the cavity. Indeed, excited Dimer have an ephemeral life of the order of some nanoseconds, and can emit energy in the form of heat or light; It is issued when the 'natural' dissociation and corresponds to a show spontaneous, non-contributory to the laser radiation, which requires that the dissociation are caused by an incident photon. Heat output to the level of some lasers cavity is important, and some involve a third element gas (Helium) in order to dispel some of this heat.

For example, to increase the density in excited Dimer, it is necessary to provide an energy very important contribution to the gaseous environment, what is feasible on the very short durations  because of the intensity and tension required.

Pages are devoted to the basic principles of the laser show and to theamplification of laser light. The gain of the cavities of the excimer lasers is lower than for other types of lasers which media consists of ions; We therefore have to produce intense electric shocks to get the laser radiation, which is emitted naturally in the form of pulse duration of a few nanoseconds. Electric shocks are transmitted by electrodes located on both of the cavity where the Ar and F2 gases are introduced.

parameters of excitation of excimer laser

The gas mixture is introduced into the cavity under certain pressure and an electrical excitation (23 kV voltage, frequency 10 Hz) aims to get an elergie of 135 mJ cavity output.

 

The cavity of an excimer laser is equipped with mirrors that allow amplification of the laser beam: the gas travels quickly between the electrodes and the stimulated emission produces ultraviolet laser radiation.

 

schema cavie laser

In a cavity excimer laser, gas containing the exciplexe (Argon fluorite) mixture is injected between the electrodes, which shall submit it to intense electric shocks (excitation). The produced radiation is amplified by a few go returns within the cavity before be directed outside the cavity. Some devices like the pre ionisers, insulation and cooling systems / movement of the cavity are not shown.

 

Beam excimer cavity output

Out of the cavity, the collected laser beam section is generally a surface of some cm2.

This image shows the outlet of the beam of the cavity, as well as its footprint gathered on a photosensitive film:

the excimer laser cavity output

Left: output port of the cavity (laser Nidek EC5000), after withdrawal of a mirror. On the right, there are three fingerprints collected on a polaroid film: vertical beam diameter is 30 mm.

 

In normal operation, a mirror to return the beam coming out of the cavity to the optical path within the instrument.

the laser output mirror

The mirror cavity output allows to direct the beam excimer to the optical path of the instrument.

As shown in the following video, we can measure the energy of the laser cavity output. The frequency of pulses is 10 Hz (10 pulses per second).

 

If you take away the energy detector, the beam spreads freely... until ' at the next material obstacle with which photons will interact (here, the door of the operating room). At 193 nm ultraviolet photons are very energetic and cause a photoablation. On the video, blue radiation correspond to a secondary show less energetic photons at laser/material interaction.

 

Licensing system

In the case of applications in corneal refractive surgery, radiation generated by the cavity must then be shaped and delivered precisely to the desired location. This role is dedicated to the licensing system, which must ensure that the final show of the impacts of the laser on the cornea, which is the spatial summation to the profile of ablation.

This imposes a the addition of various technological elements (see also the page dedicated to the)Anatomy of an excimer laser). "" Excimer lasers used in eye surgery associate a system that allows not only to generate but also of "shape" then deliver the radiation on the cornea of the eye surgery.

excimer laser: the laser beam path

Schematic representation of the path of the beam excimer output (Nidek laser). The system issue, located in the horizontal arm of the laser module the shape and direction of the beam on the cornea.

Excimer lasers used in eye surgery also receive modules allowing the pursuit of eye movements during operation (eye tracker), the integration of data specific to the operated eye (corneal topography, wave front, etc.). Part of the electronic components dedicated to these missions is shown here:

electronic excimer lasers

The excimer laser are equipped with many modules electroniqes to ensure the issuance of a beam of power set, a precise and controlled way to the surface of the operated eye.

Before each use, the laser must be "calibrated": the intensity of electric discharge intended to excite the gas environment is modulated in order to ensure a homogeneous and meets the specifications of the laser fluence according to the physical conditions in the cavity (quality of the gas mixture) and in the operating room (temperature, humidity, etc.). The calibration allows to compensate for a reduction in the power output by increasing the voltage delivered, and vice versa.

The following video shows an example of calibration with the Bausch & Lomb - Technolas Z100 laser. An orange plastic calibration plate is covered with a thin film of aluminium. This laser delivers the spots with diameters between 1 and 2 mm. When the fluence is optimal, there are 65 + / pulses to achieve two complete holes in the metal layer, naked putting the plastic layer. If the number of pulses required is more high, it must increase the intensity of electrical discharges in the cavity to increase the power emitted out of the cavity. If the number of pulses is less than 63, it should be instead of reducing tension in the cavity.

 

Characteristics of excimer cavities

The intensity of the tensions at play (on the order of some tens of kilo-Volt kV) imposes special constraints on the cavity and has some consequences that are a particular challenge of conducting an excimer laser cavity.

To avoid creating an electric arc between the electrodes, a cavity pre-ionisation is needed by an electric current writ through secondary electrodes. The duration of the discharge of the main electrode does not generally exceed 50 nanoseconds, but its intensity requires the presence of a high-performance insulating material in contact with the cavity.

To ensure a good quality radiation, must avoid the calorimetric fluctuations, and design a powerful cooling system.

The elements of the cavity subjected to these extreme conditions can degrade more quickly than for other types of laser and train the creation of dust, which must constantly be evacuated under penalty to alter the quality of the emitted beam.

So, the present gas mixture in the cavity next to the electrodes (either on a distance of a few centimetres) must be constantly renewed to dissipate heat and ensure a sufficient density in reactive elements to ensure a sufficient stimulated emission. This renewal must be made between each pulse, and this requires a quick movement of the order of several meters per second, faster than the firing frequency (between 100 and 500 Herz for excimers to surgical aiming lasers). This rapid movement requires the implementation of constraints of the fluid dynamics. Excimers eye lasers, however, are among those for which these constraints are relatively muted, as the sculpture of the cornea does not require high energy necessary for certain ceramic materials for example.

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Laser excimer

Laser excimer et chirurgie des yeux

Les lasers excimer (à excimères) occupent une place importante dans le paysage des lasers et en chirurgie réfractive: ce sont les lasers de choix pour émettre un rayonnement de forte puissance dans de courtes longueurs d’onde comme l’ultraviolet. Les photons situés dans cette plage ultraviolette sont plus énergétiques que les photons infra-rouges ou du spectre visible et de fait, ils peuvent produire des effets particuliers, comme la photoablation de la cornée en chirurgie de la myopie et des autres défauts oculaires.

Le laser excimer a révolutionné la chirurgie réfractive, car il a apporté à cette discipline un gain majeur en terme de précision et d’innocuité. Les techniques de chirurgie réfractive cornéenne au laser excimer (LASIK et PKR) dominent avec suprématie le paysage de la correction chirurgicale des défauts visuels  comme la myopie, l’hypermétropie ou l’astigmatisme. L’utilisation du laser excimer est ainsi incontournable pour un chirurgien réfractif. Le femto-LASIK repose sur l’utilisation successive d’un laser femtoseconde et d’un laser excimer.

La généralisation voire banalisation de cette technologie ne doit pas faire oublier les véritables prouesses technologiques et d’ingénierie qui lui permettent, quand il presse  la pédale de tir, de focaliser avec précision sur la cornée un rayonnement ultraviolet énergétique dont le dosage et la répartition précise font de cet acte le geste chirurgical le plus précis, toutes disciplines confondues.

Aujourd’hui, les lasers à excimère de dernière génération permettent de délivrer la correction optique en un temps réduit grâce à une fréquence de tir élevée (ex: 500 Hz soit 500 tirs par seconde). La vidéo suivante montre la séquence de tirs délivrée pour corriger une myopie de 10 Dioptries et d’un astigmatisme myopique de 5 Dioptries, sur une zone optique de 6.5 mm. A cette répétion (500 Hz), une dioptrie est corrigée en moins d’une seconde et demie. Le tir des photons laser ultraviolet (193 nm) est effectué sur un disque de plastique transparent: chaque impact produit l’émission de photons situés dans le « bleu ».

Cette vidéo révèle une séquence de tirs excimers pour la correction d’une myopie et d’un astigmatisme… vue depuis la caméra d’un iPhone positionné sous le laser, dans l’axe des tirs.

En plus des applications médicales, les lasers excimers participent à de nombreux champs d’application qui ont en commun la nécessité d’une précision extrême comme la gravure de circuits électroniques, la fabrication de semi-conducteurs, ainsi que la recherche biologique et chimique. Le point fort de la technologie excimer réside dans le fait qu’elle permet l’émission d’un rayonnement laser situé dans l’ultraviolet (UV), où les photons sont plus énergétiques ; l’énergie transportée par ces photons est supérieure à l’énergie de cohésion des atomes au sein des molécules. Un photon UV peut ainsi agir de manière ciblée en rompant une liaison inter atomique. Dans le cas de la chirurgie réfractive cornéenne, cette interaction permet d’enlever une couche très fine de tissu cornéen à chaque impact.

L’utilisation des longueurs d’onde comprises entre 230nm et 350 nm est bannie des applications médicales. En effet, à des longueurs d’onde inférieures à 230nm, la pénétration intracellulaire des radiations ultraviolettes est limitée en profondeur.  Au-delà de 350 nm, l’énergie des photons incidents est inférieure au seuil minimum pour perturber les structures cellulaires. C’est entre 230 nm et 350 nm que le risque de modifier les structures intracellulaires comme l’ADN du noyau est non négligeable. En général, les radiations dont la longueur d’onde est inférieure à 230 nm ou supérieure à 3 microns ne pénètrent pas la cornée au-delà d’une profondeur de un micron.

 

Définition du mot « excimer »

Le mot excimer est une contraction du terme « dimère excité ». Le milieu d’excitation des lasers excimer est  gazeux et composé de gaz rares (Helium, Argon, Krypton etc.) ou d’halides (Fluorine, Brome, etc.). Les gaz rares occupent la dernière colonne à droite dans le tableau de classification périodique des éléments, et les halides l’avant-dernière.

Ces éléments sont à l’état naturel peu enclins à s’assembler, sauf sous certaines conditions physiques qui doivent être réunies dans la cavité laser (haute pression, décharges électriques) : ils peuvent alors former un dimère excité. A proprement parler, un dimère est l’assemblage de deux atomes identiques, et on devrait plutôt employer le terme « exiplexe » pour caractériser l’assemblage de deux monomères différents.

 

Historique du laser excimer

Le  premier rayonnement laser émis dans l’utraviolet a été généré par une équipe soviétique dirigée par NG Basov en 1970. Une intense recherche s’en suivi, et de nombreux laboratoires réalisèrent leur propre laser excimer au milieu des années 70. Le premier développement commercial fut accompli par la société allemande Lambda Physik en 1977, et les premières applications des lasers excimers furent accomplies dans le domaine industriel (gravure de circuits électroniques) et de la recherche.

L’étude approfondie et la compréhension du processus de photo-ablation (appelée dans la publication principes de Leigh et Srinivasan « Ablative Photodecomposition ») fut une étape importante dans le développement de la technologie excimer. On raconte que l’idée de « travailler » un tissu biologique naquit dans l’esprit du savant américain employé d’IBM d’origine indienne Rangaswamy Srinivasan en Novembre 1981, le jour de la fête de Thanksgiving, et ce au moment où il dégustait en famille la traditionnelle dinde.  Le lendemain, il soumit un reste de morceau de viande de dinde à l’action d’un laser excimer à 193 nm dans son laboratoire, et fut agréablement surpris de vérifier que l’ablation tissulaire accomplie par le rayonnement laser ne s’accompagnait d’aucune trace visible de brûlure ou lésion particulière. Son équipe poursuivit des expériences sur divers tissus biologiques et constatèrent que cette « ablation propre » survenait de manière constante.

Un premier brevet concernant des applications médicales du rayonnement excimer fut déposé et enregistré en 1988 (US patent : 4.784.135 : les auteurs du brevet initial -Srinivasan, Blum et Wynne- ont été décorés de la Médaille Nationale de l’Innovation Technologique par le président Barack Obama en 2012).  De  nombreuses photos attestant de la précision et l’absence de dommage collatéral de l’effet photoablatif du rayonnement à 193 nm furent produites par Srinivasan, dont celle d’un cheveu humain sculpté sur une profondeur de 50 microns.  Ces découvertes furent amplifiées pour le grand public par la compagnie IBM, qui lors d’une annonce officielle mis en avant les applications du laser excimer pour la gravure de circuits électroniques et la chirurgie.

Un des premiers ophtalmologistes à travailler avec Srinivasan en vue d’une application en chirurgie oculaire fut le Dr Stephen Trokel, professeur associé d’ophtalmologie au « Columbia Presbyterian Medical Center » de l’université de New-York. Un article fondateur intitulé “Excimer laser surgery of the cornea,” (Chirurgie cornéenne au laser excimer) fut publié en 1983 par l’American Journal of Ophthalmology ( Trokel SL, Srinivasan B, Braren B. Excimer laser surgery of the cornea. Am J Ophthalmol,1983 ;96 :710).

Stephen Trokel

Photo prise avec Stephen Trokel lors du congrès de l’American Academy of Ophthalmology, Novembre 2013

La précision ablative autorisée par le rayonnement 193 nm associée à l’absence d’effet collatéraux ou mutagènes permirent le développement ultérieur d’une palette d’opérations des yeux à visée correctrice (PKR et LASIK) : cette application est certainement aujourd’hui la plus populaire des lasers excimers, et l’une des premières causes de leur succès commercial.

Diverses compagnies se disputent le marché de la chirurgie réfractive ; outre VISX (acquis par la firme américaine Abbott) et qui fut la première compagnie à fabriquer en grande série des lasers à visée réfractive aux Etats Unis, les compagnies allemandes Wavelight, Technolas, Schwind, Zeiss et le japonais Nidek sont les principaux acteurs du marché de la correction visuelle.

 

Rayonnement excimer

Le rayonnement excimère utilisé en chirurgie réfractive (193 nm) est obtenu à partir d’un mélange Argon et de Fluorine (Ar-F).

containers de gaz rare

Containers contenant les mélanges gazeux qui alimentent la cavité d’ un laser excimer. L’hélium (He) et le Néon (Ne) sont des gaz tampons : l’Argon (Ar) et le Fluorine (F2) sont les parties susceptibles de former le dimère excité. Ce sont des gaz corrosifs, et il est important que le système de distribution des gaz soit étanche.

 

Les gaz rares comme l’Argon sont des éléments inertes, dont les niveaux électroniques sont complètement saturés ; de fait, ils ne forment pas à l’état naturel de molécules stables avec d’autres éléments et tendent à se repousser. L’excitation par une décharge électrique intense fournit à l’un des éléments (exemple : atome d’Argon) un électron, et cette charge lui permet alors d’attirer et de constituer de manière éphémère avec un second élément un « dimère » excité (ex  2 Ar + F2 → 2 ArF*). Pour obtenir cette réaction, il faut que la probabilité de rencontre entre ces éléments soit suffisamment élevée, ce qui suppose une haute densité et donc une pression élevée dans la cavité du laser. Lors de la séparation du dimère, l’énergie de la rupture de la liaison est produite sous la forme d’un photon dont la longueur d’onde est située dans l’ultra-violet (193 nm).

La genèse du rayonnement laser est particulière puisque chaque molécule de dimère créée est excitée et correspond à une inversion de population, sans état fondamental. Il est relativement facile de créer les dimères excités. En revanche, cette inversion doit être beaucoup plus marquée que pour un laser à gaz « classique » pour compenser les pertes en rayonnement au sein de la cavité. En effet, les dimères excités ont une durée de vie éphémère de l’ordre de quelque nanosecondes, et peuvent émettre de l’énergie sous forme de chaleur, ou de lumière ; celle-ci est émise lors de la dissociation « naturelle » et correspond à une émission spontanée, non contributive au rayonnement laser, qui nécessite que la dissociation soient provoquée par un photon incident. L’émission de chaleur au niveau de la cavité de certains lasers est importante, et certains font appel à un troisième élément gazeux (Helium) afin de dissiper une partie de cette chaleur.

Ainsi, pour accroître la densité en dimères excités, il est nécessaire de fournir un apport énergétique très important au milieu gazeux, ce qui n’est faisable que sur des durées très brèves  en raison des intensités et tensions requises.

Des pages sont consacrées aux principes fondamentaux de l’émission laser et à l’amplification de la lumière laser. Le gain des cavités des lasers à excimères est plus faible que pour d’autres types de lasers dont le milieu est constitué d’ions ; il faut donc produire d’intenses décharges électriques pour obtenir le rayonnement laser, qui est émis naturellement sous la forme de pulse d’une durée de quelques nanosecondes. Les décharges électriques sont émise par des électrodes situées de part et d’autre de la cavité où sont introduits les gaz Ar et F2.

paramètres d'excitation du laser excimer

Le mélange des gaz est introduit dans la cavité soumis à certaine pression et une excitation électrique (voltage 23 KiloVolt, fréquence 10 Hz) vise à obtenir une élergie de 135 mJ en sortie de cavité.

 

La cavité d’un laser excimer est munie de miroirs qui permettent l’amplification du faisceau laser: le gaz circule rapidement entre les électrodes et l’émission stimulée produit le rayonnement laser ultraviolet.

 

schéma cavié laser

Dans une cavité laser excimer, le gaz contenant le mélange exciplexe (Argon Fluorine) est injecté entre les électrodes qui le soumettent à d’intenses décharges électriques (excitation). Le rayonnement produit est amplifié par quelques aller retours au sein de la cavité avant d’être dirigé à l’extérieur de la cavité. Certains dispositifs comme les pré ionisateurs, les systèmes d’isolation et de refroidissement / circulation de la cavité ne sont pas montrés.

 

Faisceau excimer en sortie de cavité

En sortie de cavité, la section du faisceau laser recueilli occupe généralement une surface de quelque cm2.

Cette image montre l’orifice de sortie du faisceau de la cavité, ainsi que son empreinte recueillie sur un film photosensible:

sortie de cavité du laser excimer

A gauche : orifice de sortie de la cavité (laser Nidek EC5000), après retrait d’un miroir de renvoi. A droite, on observe trois empreintes recueillies sur un film polaroid: le diamètre vertical du faisceau est de 30 mm.

 

En fonctionnement normal, un miroir permet de renvoyer le faisceau sortant de la cavité vers le chemin optique au sein de l’instrument.

miroir de sortie du laser

Le miroir de renvoi en sortie de cavité permet de diriger le faisceau excimer vers le trajet optique de l’instrument.

Comme le montre la vidéo suivante, on peut mesurer l’énergie du faisceau laser en sortie de cavité. La fréquence des pulses est de 10 Hz (10 pulses par secondes).

 

Si on retire le détecteur d’énergie, le faisceau se propage librement… juqu’au prochain obstacle matériel avec lequel les photons vont interagir (ici la porte du bloc opératoire). Les photons ultraviolets à 193 nm sont très énergétiques et provoquent une photo-ablation. Sur la vidéo, les radiations bleues correspondent à une émission secondaire de photons moins énergétiques lors de l’interaction laser/matière.

 

Système de délivrance

Dans le cas des applications en chirurgie réfractive cornéenne, le rayonnement généré par la cavité doit ensuite être modelé et délivré avec précision à l’endroit souhaité. Ce rôle est dédié au système de délivrance, qui doit assurer l’émission finale des impacts laser sur la cornée, dont la sommation spatiale correspond au profil d’ablation.

Ceci impose un l’adjonction de divers éléments technologiques (voir également la page consacrée à l’anatomie d’un laser excimer). Les lasers excimer utilisés pour la chirurgie des yeux associent un système qui permet non seulement de générer mais aussi de  » modeler » puis délivrer le rayonnement sur la cornée de l’oeil opéré.

laser excimer : trajet du faisceau laser

Représentation schématique du trajet du faisceau excimer en sortie (laser Nidek). Le système de délivrance, situé dans le bras horizontal du laser module la forme et la direction du faisceau délivré sur la cornée.

Les lasers excimer utilisés pour la chirurgie oculaire bénéficient également de modules permettant la poursuite des mouvements oculaires au cours de l’opération (eye tracker), l’intégration de données propres à l’oeil opéré (topographie cornéenne, front d’onde, etc.). Une partie des composants électroniques dévoués à ces missions est montrée ici:

electronique des lasers excimer

Les laser excimer sont munis de nombreux modules électroniqes permettant d’assurer la délivrance d’un faisceau de puissance définie, de manière précise et contrôlée à la surface de l’œil opéré.

Avant chaque utilisation, le laser doit être « calibré »: l’intensité des décharges électrique destinées à exciter le milieu gazeux est modulée afin de garantir une fluence homogène et conforme aux spécifications du laser, en fonction des conditions physiques régnant dans la cavité (qualité du mélange gazeux) et dans la salle opératoire (température, hygrométrie, etc.). La calibration permet de compenser une réduction de la puissance délivrée en augmentant la tension délivrée, et inversement.

La vidéo suivante montre un exemple de calibration avec le laser Bausch & Lomb -Technolas Z100. Une plaque de calibration en plastique orange est recouverte d’un fin film aluminium. Ce laser délivre des spots de diamètres compris entre 1 et 2 mm. Quand la fluence est optimale, il faut 65 +/- pulses pour réaliser deux perforations complètes de la couche métallique, mettant à nu la couche plastique. Si le nombre de pulses nécessaires est plus élevé, il faut augmenter l’intensité des décharges électriques dans la cavité pour augmenter la puissance émise en sortie de la cavité. Si le nombre de pulses est inférieur à 63, il convient au contraire de réduire la tension délivrée dans la cavité.

 

Particularités des cavités excimer

L’intensité des tensions mises en jeu (de l’ordre de quelque dizaines de kilo-Volt kV) impose des contraintes particulières sur la cavité et a certaines conséquences qui font de la réalisation d’une cavité laser excimer un défi particulier.

Pour éviter la création d’un arc électrique entre les électrodes, une pré-ionisation de la cavité est nécessaire par l’émission d’un bref courant électrique au moyen d’électrodes secondaires. La durée de la décharge de l’électrode principale ne dépasse généralement pas 50 nanosecondes, mais son intensité nécessite la présence d’un matériau isolant performant au contact de la cavité.

Afin de garantir un rayonnement de bonne qualité, il faut éviter les fluctuations calorimétriques, et concevoir un système de refroidissement performant.

Les éléments de la cavité soumis à ces conditions extrêmes peuvent se dégrader plus rapidement que pour d’autres types de laser et entrainer la création de poussières, qui doivent être évacuées constamment sous peine d’altérer la qualité du faisceau émis.

Ainsi, le mélange gazeux présent dans la cavité en regard des électrodes (soit sur une distance de quelques centimètres) doit être en permanence renouvelé pour dissiper la chaleur, et garantir une densité suffisante en éléments réactifs pour garantir une émission stimulée suffisante. Ce renouvellement doit être effectué entre chaque pulse, et ceci impose une circulation rapide, de l’ordre de plusieurs mètres par secondes, d’autant plus rapide que la fréquence de tir (comprise entre 100 et 500 Herz pour les lasers excimers à visée chirurgicale). Cette circulation rapide impose la mise en œuvre de contraintes propres à la dynamique des fluides. Les lasers excimers ophtalmologiques sont toutefois parmi ceux pour qui ces contraintes sont relativement atténuées, car la sculpture de la cornée ne requiert pas les hautes énergies nécessaire pour certains matériaux céramiques par exemple.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *