+ +

Visual angle

The notion of Visual angle or apparent angle comes up frequently in physiological optics, including to characterize the resolving power of the eye (Visual acuity). The apparent Visual angle and angular size is used to free itself from the distance between the eye and the observed target: a diameter of 1 cm at a distance of 1 meter will be imaged on the retina with a same size of a piece of a diameter of 2 cm at a distance of 2 metres.

Apparent angle

The apparent angle integrates in a same size distance and size of the object. It can be used to quantify the power of eye resolution, which corresponds to the minimum angle below which we cannot separate two distinct point light sources (example: a pair of double stars). The term is also used of "resolving power.

apparent Visual angle with the nodal point

The Visual angle is formed by the two sources and the nodal point, occupying the Summit of this angle. The nodal point is located about 17 mm from the surface of the retina. The minimum angle to resolve as separate two frequent sources corresponds to the resolving power of the eye.

Visual angle: units

The apparent Visual angle is expressed in different units: radians (for calculations), ('big' angles) degrees, or minutes and seconds of arc ('small ' angles).  Fortunately, there are conversion formulas that allow to move from one unit to the other.

By following the path of a 'unit' (of RADIUS 1) circle, a 360 ° rotation is needed to achieve a full turn. The perimeter of this circle worth 2 Pi, we easily get the value in radians of an angle expressed in degrees: A (rad) = Pix (deg) / 180.

A radian value matches the angle which is formed by an arc of the same length as the RADIUS that generates it.  When an object is part of an angle small (ex: 1 °, area of study of the OPD, or PI/180 = 0.017 radians), one can calculate the actual size of an object which we know the distance to the eye by multiplying it by the angle in radians (figure).

A degree is divided into 60 minutes of arc; each arc minute is divided into 60 seconds of arc.

conversion angle in degrees to minute of arc

A degree of angle can be subdivided into 60 minutes of arc, which can each be divided into 60 seconds of arc.

The measurement of Visual acuity is based partly on the resolving power of the eye, which allows him to see distinct two points separated by a Visual angle which cannot be reduced under sentence to "confuse" the images (which are more separated).

  Visual acuity is defined as the inverse of the value of the minimum angle of resolution expressed in minutes of arc, often referred to by the acronym MAR (Minimum Resolution Angle).

A resolution of 1 minute of arc power corresponds to be able to see two points as "distinct" that under tend an angle of 1/60e degree. It is a theoretical acuity of 1/1 = 10/10. A resolving power of 1.2 minutes of arc is a Visual acuity of 1 / 1.25 = 8/10, and 2 minutes of arc to a Visual acuity of 1/2 = 5/10.

Logically, more market increases, more Visual acuity decreases, and vice versa.

The visual angle of the lunar disk is half a degree, approximately 30 minutes of arc. This is approximately the angle under which the nail of an index saw elongated arm. The apparent diameter of Jupiter seen from Earth is close to 30 seconds of Arc, the SCNV resolution limit of the human eye; To the naked eye, Jupiter actually appears as a record and not a point for an observer with a good visual acuity.

Visual angle and cycles

The splitter power of the eye can also be expressed as the amount of "details" that it is able to "solve" when they are enrolled in a given angle (eg: 1 °). For example, an elemental detail consists of a "cycle", which connects two different luminance ranges (see also: spatial frequencies). The smaller the cycle, the more you can repeat it in a degree of angle (the cycles are all the more "fine" they are many). The resolution capacity of an eye can be quantified by the number of cycles it is able to discern in an apparent degree of visual angle. The contrast within each cycle, i.e. the difference between the minimum and maximum luminances, obviously plays an important role in this capacity. A visual acuity of 10/10 is equivalent to the power to discern 30 cycles (maximum contrast) per degree. A sharpness of 20/10 allows to solve 60 cycles per degree.

angle Visual notion of cycles per degree

In this example (drawing not to scale), ago 3 cycles per degree. If Visual acuity was of 3 cycles per degree (i.e. about 1/10th), this would mean that the eye cannot resolve a pattern more thin, consisting more of 3 cycles per degree.

5 Responses to "visual Angle"

  1. Jean-Luc Mainardi says:

    Good morning, sir
    I'm an Amateur astronomer.
    Soon, May 9th the planet Mercury will pass in front of the sun;
    The size of the planet's disk is 12 minutes of arc so well above the limit of perception of the eye.
    But we won't be able to see her with the naked eye!
    = = > In the world of astronomy we recommend a magnification of at least 40 x for
    Sighting (an apparent angle of 40x 12 ' = 480 ' = 8 °!!!
    How to explain such a difference in the abilities of the eye especially as the eye works with a contrast close to 1 in this case.
    In advance thank you
    Jean-Luc Mainardi

  2. Jean-Luc Mainardi says:

    Hello Sir,

    I realize after the fact that I made a profound mistake: I confused the minutes of arc with the arc seconds!
    Mercury, during its passage in front of the sun will have an angular diameter of 12 seconds of Arc, which, of course, is very much below the detection power of the eye.
    The use of a magnifying astronomical instrument at least 40x is therefore recommended to see this tiny black point on the surface of the sun.
    I beg you to consider my previous question as null and void.

    I enjoy reading your site especially the part about Visual acuity.
    We, amateur astronomers, always refer to the works of Albert Arnulf
    And the conclusions he draws from it with regard to the vision with the naked eye in the instruments (works of 1937!)
    Very cordially
    Jean-Luc Mainardi

  3. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    Thanks for your comments lit up, I am fan of astronomy (amateur) and am delighted to be able to observe, probably by interposed journals, the images of this partial 'eclipse' Mercurian. Should be effectively to the human eye acuity superior to discern the edges of the disk of mercury three times. That said, acuity of detection, thinner (10 seconds of arc), would allow in theory to collect mercury "a point" in front of the Sun.

  4. Adeline says:

    Hello
    And thank you for your site very well done.
    It seems to me that there is a small shell in the last sentence "A acuity of 20/10 allows to solve 20 cycles per degree." (It's 60 CPD, not 20, isn't it?).
    Sincerely,
    Adeline

  5. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    Well seen, it is actually 60 cycles per degree for the acuity of 20/10. I correct this shell and thank you for your attentive proofreading.

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Angle visuel

La notion d’angle visuel ou angle apparent revient fréquemment en optique physiologique, notamment pour caractériser le pouvoir séparateur de l’oeil (acuité visuelle). L’utilisation de l’angle visuel apparent ou de taille angulaire permet de s’affranchir de la distance entre l’œil et la cible observée : une pièce d’un diamètre de 1 cm vue à une distance d’1 mètre sera imagée sur la rétine avec une taille identique à celle d’une pièce d’un diamètre de 2 cm vue à une distance de 2 mètres.

Angle apparent

L’angle apparent intègre dans une même grandeur distance et taille de l’objet. Il peut être utilisé pour quantifier le pouvoir de résolution oculaire, qui correspond à l’angle minimum en deçà duquel on ne peut séparer deux sources lumineuses ponctuelles distinctes (exemple : une paire d’étoiles doubles). On utilise également  le terme  de « pouvoir séparateur ».

angle visuel apparent avec le point nodal

L’angle visuel est formé par les deux sources et le point nodal, qui occupe le sommet de cet angle. Le point nodal est situé à environ 17 mm de la surface de la rétine. L’angle minimum permettant de résoudre comme distinctes deux sources rapprochées correspond au pouvoir séparateur de l’oeil.

Angle visuel : unités

L’angle visuel apparent est exprimé dans des unités diverses : radians (pour les calculs), degrés (« grands » angles), ou minutes et secondes d’arc (« petits « angles).  Heureusement, il existe des formules de conversion qui permettent de passer d’une unité à l’autre.

En suivant le tracé d’un cercle « unité » (de rayon 1), il faut accomplir une rotation de  360° pour réaliser un tour complet. Le périmètre de ce cercle valant 2 Pi, on obtient facilement la valeur en radian d’un angle exprimé en degrés : A(rad)= Pix A(deg)/180.

La valeur d’un radian correspond à celle de l’angle qui est formé par un arc de cercle de même longueur que le rayon qui l’engendre.  Quand un objet s’inscrit dans un angle restreint (ex : 1° , domaine d’étude de l’aberrométrie, soit PI/180 = 0.017 radians), on peut calculer la taille réelle d’un objet dont on connaît la distance avec l’œil en multipliant celle-ci par l’angle exprimé en radians (figure).

Un degré est subdivisé en 60 minutes d’arc ; chaque minute d’arc est subdivisée en 60 secondes d’arc.

conversion angle en degré vers minute d'arc

Un degré d’angle peut être subdivisé en 60 minutes d’arc, qui peuvent être chacune scindées en 60 secondes d’arc.

La mesure de l’acuité visuelle repose en partie sur le pouvoir de résolution de l’œil, qui lui permet de voir distinct deux points séparés d’un angle visuel qui ne peut pas être réduit sous peine de « confondre » les images (qui ne sont plus séparées).

  L’acuité visuelle est définie comme l’inverse de la valeur de l’angle minimal de résolution exprimé en minutes d’arc, que l’on désigne souvent sous l’acronyme MAR (Minimum Resolution Angle).

Un pouvoir de résolution d’une 1 minute d’arc correspond à pouvoir voir comme « distincts » deux points qui sous tendent un angle de 1/60e de degré. Il  correspond à une acuité visuelle  théorique de 1/1=10/10. Un pouvoir séparateur de 1.2 minutes d’arc correspond à une acuité visuelle de 1/1.25= 8/10, et de 2 minutes d’arc  à une acuité visuelle de 1/2=5/10.

Logiquement, plus le MAR augmente, plus l’acuité visuelle diminue, et inversement.

L’angle visuel du disque lunaire est d’un demi degré, soit 30 minutes d’arc environ. C’est approximativement l’angle que sous tend l’ongle d’un index vu bras allongé. Le diamètre apparent de Jupiter vu depuis la terre est proche de 30 secondes d’arc, soit la limite de résolution fovéale de l’oeil humain; à l’oeil nu, Jupiter apparaît effectivement comme un disque et non un point pour un observateur muni d’une bonne acuité visuelle.

Angle visuel et cycles

Le pouvoir séparateur de l’oeil peut également s’exprimer comme la quantité de « détails » qu’il est capable de « résoudre » quand ils sont inscrits dans un angle donné (ex : 1°). Un détail élémentaire est par exemple constitué d’un « cycle », qui relie deux plages de luminance différentes. Plus un cycle est petit, et plus on peut en répéter dans un degré d’angle  (les cycles sont d’autant plus « fins » qu’ils sont nombreux). La  capacité de résolution d’un œil peut être quantifiée par le nombre de cycles qu’il est capable de discerner dans un degré d’angle visuel apparent. Le contraste au sein de chaque cycle, c’est-à-dire la différence entre les luminances minimale et maximale joue bien évidemment un rôle important dans cette capacité. Une acuité visuelle de 10/10 est équivalente au pouvoir de discerner 30 cycles (contraste maximal) par degré. Une acuité de 20/10 permet de résoudre 20 cycles par degré.

angle visuel notion de cycles par degré

Dans cet exemple (dessin non à l’échelle), il y a 3 cycles par degré. Si l’acuité visuelle était de 3 cycles par degré (soit environ 1/10e), cela signifierait que l’œil ne peut résoudre un motif plus fin, constitué de plus de 3 cycles par degré.

3 réponses à “Angle visuel”

  1. Jean-Luc Mainardi dit :

    Bonjour Monsieur,
    Je suis astronome Amateur.
    Bientôt, le 9 Mai la planète Mercure va passer devant le soleil;
    La dimension du disque de la Planète est de 12 minutes d’arc donc bien au-dessus de la limite de perception de l’œil.
    Pourtant on ne pourra pas la voir à l’œil nu !
    ==> Dans le monde de l’astronomie on recommande un grossissement d’au moins 40 x pour
    l’ apercevoir (soit un angle apparent de 40x 12 ‘ =480 ‘ = 8° !!!
    Comment expliquer une telle différence dans les capacités de l’œil surtout que l’œil travaille avec un contraste proche de 1 dans ce cas.
    Par avance merci
    Jean-Luc Mainardi

  2. Jean-Luc Mainardi dit :

    Rebonjour Monsieur,

    Je m’aperçois après coup que j’ai fait une profonde erreur: j’ai confondu les minutes d’arc avec les secondes d’arc !!!
    Mercure, lors de son passage devant le soleil aura un diamètre angulaire de 12 secondes d’arc, ce qui , bien entendu est très en-dessous du pouvoir de détection de l’œil.
    L’utilisation d’un instrument astronomique grossissant au moins 40x est donc recommandé pour voir cet infime point noir sur la surface du Soleil.
    Je vous prie de considérer ma question précédente comme nulle et non avenue.

    Je me régale à la lecture de votre site surtout la partie concernant l’acuité visuelle.
    Nous autres , astronomes amateurs, faisons toujours référence aux travaux de Albert Arnulf
    et aux conclusions qu’il en tire pour ce qui concerne la vision à l’œil nu dans les instruments (travaux de 1937 !)
    Très cordialement
    Jean-Luc Mainardi

  3. Dr Damien Gatinel dit :

    Merci pour vos commentaires éclairés, je suis fan d’astronomie (amateur) et me réjouit de pouvoir observer, probablement par revues spécialisées interposées, les images de cette « éclipse » partielle Mercurienne. Il faudrait effectivement à l’oeil humain une acuité trois fois supérieure pour discerner les bords du disque de Mercure. Cela dit, l’acuité de détection, plus fine (10 secondes d’arc), autoriserait en théorie à percevoir Mercure « un point » devant le soleil.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *