+ +

Excimer laser: flying spots

Latest excimers lasers use a technology called 'flying spots' (sweep by spots): the energy of laser light is distributed in the form of pulses, whose diameter is close to 1 mm. Each spots "ablate" some corneal tissue.

The different ametropia correction (myopia, hypermetropia and) astigmatism) is accomplished by a selective distribution of spots, in order to reproduce the desired ablation profile. The spots are directed on the cornea after reflection on present mirrors within the licensing system. These mirrors are controlled by the licensing of the excimer laser system: they allow to lead each spot on the target, and are slaves to the system of prosecution eye (eye tracker). During the procedure, the patient's eye fixed a focus (ex: flashing green light target). This target may appear as a 'task' more or less extended to the patient, due to the light spread caused by the realization of the flap and the dehydration of the corneal stroma subjected to fire. If the eye moves or jerks during fixation, eye prosecution system modifies the angulation of the mirrors of fire in real time, to compensate for the movement of the eye. The newest lasers are equipped with eye-tracking systems that 1024 images of the eye per second! This is necessary because the firing frequency of the excimer lasers modern reached 500 Hz (500 shots per second!).

The 'flying spots' technology - scanning by spots - allows flexibility for the realization of different "patterns" of sculpture needed to correct optical defects. The correction of hyperopia and astigmatism requires a pattern of relatively 'complex' sculpture, and the realization of large areas of transition.

The following video was made by filming the shots delivered by the EC500 Wavelight laser with a smartphone (iPhone 4S) by 'below'. This laser delivers the spots at the frequency of 500 Hz. This rate is much higher than the current video acquisition, also the video captures only a small proportion of issued fire... The iPhone was fitted with an accessory lens (macro), in order to focus on the target which was to experience a calibration in PMMA plate. Shots were also filmed by the camera of the Wavelight excimer laser, and an overview could be captured through a second smartphone (Samsung Ativ S).

 

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Laser excimer: flying spots

Les lasers excimers les plus récents utilisent une technologie appelée « flying spots » (balayage par spots): l’énergie de la lumière laser est distribuée sous la forme de pulses, dont le diamètre est proche de 1 mm. Chaque spots « ablate » un peu de tissu cornéen.

La correction des différentes amétropies (myopie, hypermétropie et astigmatisme) est accomplie par une distribution sélective des spots, afin de reproduire le profil d’ablation souhaité. Les spots sont dirigés sur la cornée après réflexion sur des miroirs présents au sein du système de délivrance. Ces miroirs sont commandés par le système de délivrance du laser excimer: ils permettent de diriger chaque spot sur sa cible, et sont asservis au système de poursuites oculaires (eye tracker). Pendant l’intervention, l’oeil du patient fixe une mire (ex: cible lumineuse verte clignotante). Cette cible peut apparaître comme une « tâche » plus ou moins étendue au patient, en raison de la diffusion lumineuse engendrée par la réalisation du capot et la déshydratation du stroma cornéen soumis aux tirs. Si l’oeil bouge ou présente des saccades pendant la fixation, le système de poursuites oculaires modifie l’angulation des miroirs de tirs en temps réel, pour compenser le déplacement de l’oeil. Les lasers les plus récents sont équipés de systèmes de poursuite oculaire qui prennent 1024 images de l’oeil par seconde ! Cette cadence est nécessaire, car la fréquence de tir des lasers excimer moderne atteint 500 Hz (500 tirs par seconde !).

La technologie « flying spots » – balayage par spots – autorise une grande souplesse pour la réalisation des différents « motifs » de sculpture nécessaires pour corriger certains défauts optiques. La correction de l’hypermétropie et de l’astigmatisme requiert un motif de sculpture relativement « complexe », et la réalisation de larges zones de transition.

La vidéo suivante a été effectuée en filmant par « en dessous » les tirs délivrés par le laser Wavelight EC500 grâce à un smartphone (iPhone 4S). Ce laser délivre des spots à la fréquence de 500 Hz. Cette cadence est largement supérieure à celle de l’acquisition vidéo courante, aussi la vidéo ne capture qu’une faible proportion des tirs délivrés… L’iPhone était muni d’une lentille accessoire (macro), afin de faire la mise au point sur la cible qui consistait pour l’expérience en une plaque de calibration en PMMA. Les tirs ont également été filmés au moyen de la caméra du laser excimer Wavelight, et une vue d’ensemble a pu être capturée grâce à un second smartphone (Samsung Ativ S).

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *