+ +

Diffraction

Definition, General

Light diffraction is an optical phenomenon related to the wave properties of light: the effects of diffraction can be explained by geometrical optics. Diffraction occurs when light waves pass through a pupil or encounter an obstacle. At the edges of these light waves are "diffractées", issued in directions that geometrical optics and refraction laws could not only predict. Diffraction phenomena of constructive and destructive interference between light waves-based, and is in fact 'wavelength dependent.

The phenomena of diffraction of visible light can be observed under certain conditions, when a beam of white light is reflected by a structure with repetitive patterns, which to diffract the light, separate trains of different wavelength.

diffraction sensor

The reflection of a source of white light by a digital digital camera CMOS sensor causes a phenomenon of diffraction. It relates to the repetitive structure formed by millions of photosites in the sensor. The diffraction pattern is not unlike that patients of «» Rainbow glare "present.

Taking into account diffraction is important for an in-depth study of the refractive properties of the eye, because the diffraction impose a limit on the resolving power of eye (Visual acuity). The effects of diffraction can be used to design specific lenses for implants used in ophthalmology, such as Diffractive optics used for cataract surgery (ex: bifocal or trifocal Diffractive implant for cataract surgery). Light diffraction is also involved in some rare Visual phenomena observed after LASIK)Rainbow glare), or after surgery of cataract)light streaks)

 

Diffraction and interference

Diffraction is characterized by a deviation of the light rays from the direction of travel under the laws of geometrical optics. Diffraction occurs whenever a light wave front encounters an obstacle that is not completely transparent: it stems from the wave aspect of light, and can be interpreted as a phenomenon of interference interesting an infinite number of waves. To understand diffraction, remind some principles of the wavelike design of light, the first plan of which the principle of Huygens.

 

principle of huyghens obstacle

The wave nature of light and Huygens principle result in an interesting property. The Huygens principle says that light moves closer and closer as a wave, each point of space re emmettant of light in all directions in the form of wavelets: However, for a parallel incident direction, generated waves surfaces add up in the direction of propagation and cancel out in the opposite direction.  When light strikes a perforated bump in a tiny way - if the dimensions of the perforations are of the same order as the wavelength, the light disperses after the obstacle as if she had been "re issued" in all directions since the perforation. The point located in the hole behaves as a "sender re", in accordance with the principle of Huygens, without adjacent points come to neutralize Wavelet issued laterally.

Light re-emitted to the same properties if it had been issued by a single point source, which then acquires a certain spatial coherence (the waves emitted from that source are "in phase" on a receiver or remote obstacle).  This property has been used in the famous experiment say 'slots' (or 'holes') of Young that marks an important step in thehistory of the study of light. The arrival of waves in phase (after diffraction by a first hole) at the level of the slots drilled screen allowed the visibility of interference produced beyond the slots.

Young's experience demonstrates the wave nature of light

Young's experience demonstrates the wave nature of light: it can be considered as the 'Queen' in the field experience. The doctor phycicien described in 1807 the experimental device to which his name is attached. A monochromatic beam of light is projected onto a first screen perforated in order to achieve a spatially "consistent" from the small hole point source (sources of lights used at the time of Young were inconsistent: nowadays, may be substituted for the first source and perforation punching a laser whose light is consistent). The emitted light meets a second perforated plate of two tiny holes separate and placed at a distance from the first plate. The resulting mixture of created beams is observed on a screen placed behind the plate: instead of see two bright peaks centered on the holes, there is a succession of alternately dark and bright bands. A theory of geometrical Optics (rays) does not explain this phenomenon (one would expect to see the projected image of the holes on the screen). A "ballistic" (photon) theory of light does not predict this result (even if is allowed from photons to ricochet around the edges of each hole, one would observe in this case two peaks of luminous intensity top and centered on the holes, and certainly not of dark area between the two!). Only the wave theory could explain the observed result: depending on the amplitude of each wave in a point in space, there occurred a strengthening or a cancellation, with all intermediate situations. We can calculate the spacing between the light and dark bands, as well as the intensity of these fringe, from the distance between the holes and the length wave (as well as the position of the screen). This phenomenon of "interference" confirms the intuition of Young, who is convinced that the light is a wave. Young's experience has brought about many 'girls' experiences, where the light by electrons, then complex molecules and atoms were replaced: each time, observed phenomena of interference, which reflect a certain wavelike behavior of matter! The quantum theory explains these phenomena, the strangest is related to the realization of the Young hole experience by sending one by one of the light photons. After a while, there is the appearance of interference... as if the photons, but drawn one by one, interfered with them even independently of the time taken to issue. The photos seem to interfere through time...

The following figure shows the directions that occur builders interference (orders of diffraction) and destructive.

Diffraction by 2 slots

Representation of diffraction orders generated by the interference produced by the slits close together in the experience of Young. The uniform "grey" appearance in certain directions corresponds to the "neutralization" of the trains of waves (destructive interference).

Geometric explanation of interference (Young's experience)

The origin of the phenomena observed is therefore due to the occurrence of interference between waves diffractées through the holes.

The left two wave trains that interfere destructively (offset of half a wavelength) was isolated: in this direction, the light intensity is zero. Right on the contrary, the waves interfere constructively: in that direction there is a peak of intensity. Designing the wavelength and the distance between the holes to determine intensity and spacing of the bright fringes

 

 Diffraction and eye

With respect to the eye, the edge of the IRIS Pupil is the main source of diffraction for light that contributes to the formation of the retinal image: physiologically, the effects of diffraction are negligible as long as the pupillary diameter is greater than 2 mm approximately. Below one millimeter, pupillary diffraction results in degradation of the retinal image; However, she has as a corollary an increase in depth of field. The placement of an implant Kamra (neo pupil of 1.6 mm) allows to increase the depth of field of the eye, without inducing major degradation of the quality of the retinal image.

Diffraction destroyed the harsh stigma of geometrical optics, an optically perfect eye has a rigorous stigma; the image of a point is a point where meet all the rays spread through the eye in wave optics, diffraction limits the quality of the optics of the eye, and it even more than the diameter of the pupil is small (myosis). In the absence of optical aberrations, diffraction causes an enlargement of the retinal focal task, which becomes wider than the image of a point source infinitesimal. So, the image of a point is never a point; but a task that matches a bright 'sprawl'. In addition to the essential diffraction, this spread can be accentuated by the presence of optical aberrations. There is a function that allows the representation of the spreading of the luminous energy corresponding to the image of a point source on the retina: (FEP) point spread function, most commonly designated by the acronym PSF (Point Spread Function).

When the eye is devoid of optical aberrations (theoretical situation), only diffraction reduced the stigma. The focal task has a task of Airy aspect: a bright central peak surrounded by darker rings. We can predict the diameter of the central peak, using a bit of geometry and a relatively simple reasoning. To simplify, we can represent no not the pupil as a drive but as a crack, in 2 dimensions.

Diffraction and calculation of the width of the Airy task

For a slot of width D, there are constructive interference in the horizontal direction: there is a peak of intensity in the direction of the incident light path centered on the center of the line of light. Interferences exist in other directions (each point of the crack is considered a secondary source which re emits light in all directions: principle of Huyghens.) We can form couples of points located at a distance of D/2 and for which the ore angle is one whereby the difference in market is half a wavelength (ʎ/2). For all these pairs of points, there is a mutual "neutralization" of luminous intensity in the direction of ore. The value of the ore angle depends on the width of the slot D and the wavelength ʎ (this angle can be approximated by the value (ʎ 2) / (D/2) be ʎ/d in radians, for a small angle: indeed sin = ά (ά) for a small angle). The width of the Central bright spot (of the central peak to the first minimum) is equal to the double of the value of ά or 2 ʎ /d For a circular pupil (and not a slit), multiply the value obtained by 1.22. When we realize that the wavelength is of the order of the micron, and D of the millimeter (thousand times larger), it is conceived that this angle is very small, and the effects of diffraction are observable only under specific conditions. The wavelength is large, and more bandwidth is important. Thus, blue light forms a focal spot that is narrower than the red light under the same conditions: that's why the blu - ray discs (read by a blue laser focused on the disc) contain more information than DVDs (red laser).

We understand intuitively that when light encounters a repetitive pattern constituted obstacles, or repeated patterns whose dimensions are relatively similar to those of the wavelength, Interferential phenomena will give rise to a particular distribution of light energy rolling (or reflected). This is being used for the realization of the diffractive multifocal implants (which markets measure some microns): for a bifocal implant, the spacing of the markets is calculated so that the light diffracted in order 1 is directed to a household corresponding to an addition useful for vision closely (additional vergence: ex: + 3D). The design and the height of the diffractive steps are to control the distribution of energy between the orders of diffraction. The design of a trifocal diffraction pattern is based on the same principles, applied in a more subtle way.

We realize that the wavelength influences the direction of diffraction. It is more important for the long wavelengths (red) for the short (blue). Thus, diffraction induces a deviation from the color opposite to that of refraction (these are the short wavelengths that are most deflected).

In everyday life, we can observe the effects of diffraction as reflections iridescent engraved face of a compact disc, which are of a similar phenomenon: angles according to which there is colors correspond to angles of maximum diffraction by the diffraction network (formed in by the estate of hollows and bumps) for each wavelength. the light that illuminates the disc must of course be polychromatic (white light).

The diffraction influence the presence of aberration of high degree on the quality of the retinal image, at least for the current pupil diameters (diffraction predominates for less than 2 mm in diameter). The calculation of the Point Spread Function (the point spread function) takes into account diffraction. In addition to allow the calculation of the maximum theoretical resolution of optical systems (including the eye), the study of the PSF and its use to simulate the retinal image of a more complex than a simple point motif are particularly important in certain clinical circumstances.

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Diffraction

Définition, généralités

La diffraction lumineuse est un phénomène optique lié aux propriétés ondulatoires de la lumière: les effets de la diffraction ne peuvent être expliqués par l’optique géométrique. La diffraction survient quand les ondes lumineuses traversent une pupille ou rencontrent  un obstacle. Au niveau des bords de ceux-ci, les ondes lumineuses sont « diffractées »,  émises dans des directions que l’optique géométrique et les lois de la réfraction ne pourraient seules prédire. La diffraction repose sur des phénomènes d’interférence constructive et destructive entre les ondes lumineuses,  et est de fait « longueur d’onde dépendant ».

Les phénomènes de diffraction de la lumière visible peuvent être observés dans certaines conditions, quand un faisceau de lumière blanche est réfléchi par une structure comportant des motifs répétitifs, qui, en diffractent la lumière incidente, séparent les trains de longueur d’onde différente.

diffraction capteur

La réflexion d’une source de lumière blanche par un capteur CMOS d’appareil photo numérique digital provoque un phénomène de diffraction. Il est lié à la structure répétitive formée par les millions de photosites du capteur. Le motif de diffraction n’est pas sans rappeler celui que les patients atteints de « rainbow glare » présentent.

La prise en compte de la diffraction est importante pour l’étude approfondie des propriétés réfractives de l’oeil, car la diffraction impose une limite au pouvoir de résolution oculaire (acuité visuelle). Les effets de la diffraction peuvent être utilisés pour concevoir des optiques particulières pour les implants utilisés en ophtalmologie, comme les optiques diffractives  utilisées pour la chirurgie de la cataracte (ex : implant diffractif bifocal ou trifocal pour la chirurgie de la cataracte). La diffraction lumineuse est également impliquée dans certains phénomènes visuels rares, observés après LASIK (rainbow glare), ou après chirurgie de la cataracte (stries lumineuses)

 

Diffraction et interférences

La diffraction est caractérisée par une déviation des rayons lumineux par rapport à la direction du trajet prévu par les lois de l’optique géométrique. La diffraction s’observe dès qu’un front d’onde lumineux rencontre un obstacle qui ne lui est pas complètement transparent:elle découle de l’aspect ondulatoire de la lumière, et peut être interprétée comme un phénomène d’interférence intéressant un nombre infini d’ondes. Pour comprendre la diffraction, il faut rappeler certains principes propres à la conception ondulatoire de la lumière, au premier plan desquels le principe de Huygens.

 

principe de huyghens obstacle

La nature ondulatoire de la lumière et le principe de Huygens résultent en une propriété intéressante. Le principe de Huygens stipule que la lumière se déplace de proche en proche comme une onde, chaque point de l’espace re emmettant de la lumière dans toutes les directions sous forme d’ondelettes: toutefois, pour une direction incidente parallèle, les surfaces d’ondes engendrées s’additionnent dans la direction de propagation et s’annulent dans la direction opposée.  Quand la lumière rencontre un obstacle perforé de manière minuscule – si les dimensions de la perforations sont du même ordre que la longueur d’onde, la lumière se disperse après l’obstacle comme si elle avait été « re émise » dans toutes les directions depuis la perforation. Le point situé dans la perforation se comporte bien comme un « re emmetteur », conformément au principe de Huygens, sans que les points adjacents viennent neutraliser les ondelettes émises latéralement.

La lumière réémise à les mêmes propriétés que si elle avait été émise par une source ponctuelle unique, qui acquiert alors une certaine cohérence spatiale (les ondes émises depuis cette source arrivent « en phase » sur un récepteur ou obstacle distant).  Cette propriété a été utilisée dans la célèbre expérience dites des « fentes » (ou « trous ») de  Young qui marque une étape importante dans l’histoire de l’étude de la lumière. L’arrivée d’ondes en phase (après diffraction par un premier trou) au niveau de l’écran percé des fentes permettait d’accroître la visibilité des interférences produites au delà des fentes.

L’expérience de Young démontre la nature ondulatoire de la lumière

L’expérience de Young démontre la nature ondulatoire de la lumière: elle peut être considérée comme l’expérience « reine » en la matière. Le médecin phycicien décrit en 1807 le dispositif expérimental auquel son nom reste attaché. Un faisceau lumineux monochromatique est projeté sur un premier écran perforé, de manière à obtenir une source ponctuelle spatialement « cohérente » à partir de la petite perforation (les sources de lumières utilisées à l’époque de Young étaient incohérentes: de nos jours, on peut substituer à la première source et perforation perforation un faisceau laser dont la lumière est cohérente). La lumière émise rencontre une seconde plaque perforée de deux trous minuscules distinct, et placée à distance de la première plaque. On observe sur un écran placé derrière cette plaque le mélange résultant des faisceaux ainsi créés : au lieu de voir deux pics lumineux centrés sur les perforations, on observe une succession de bandes alternativement sombres et claires. Une théorie d’optique géométrique (rayons) ne permet pas d’expliquer ce phénomène (on s’attendrait à voir l’image projetée des trous sur l’écran). Une théorie  « balistique » (photons) de la lumière ne permet pas non plus de prédire ce résultat ( même si l’on autorise les photons tirés à ricocher sur les bords de chaque perforation, on observerait dans ce cas deux pics d’intensité lumineuses principaux et centrés sur les trous, et certainement pas de zone sombre entre les deux !!). Seule la théorie ondulatoire permettait d’expliquer le résultat observé: en fonction de l’amplitude de chacune des ondes en un point de l’espace, il s’y produit soit un renforcement, soit une annulation, avec toutes les situations intermédiaires. On peut calculer l’espacement entre les bandes claires et sombres, ainsi que l’intensité des ces franges, à partir de la distance entre les trous et la longueur d’onde (ainsi que la position de l’écran). Ce phénomène d’ « interférence » confirme l’intuition de Young, qui est convaincu que la la lumière est une onde. L’expérience de Young a engendrée de nombreuses expériences « filles », où l’on a remplacé la lumière par des électrons, puis des atomes et molécules complexes: à chaque fois, on observe des phénomènes d’interférences, qui traduisent un certain comportement ondulatoire de la matière! La théorie quantique explique ces phénomènes, dont le plus étrange est lié à la réalisation d’une expérience des trou d’Young en envoyant un a un des photons lumineux. Au bout d’un certain temps, on observe l’apparition des interférences… comme si les photons, pourtant tirés un par un, interféraient avec eux même indépendamment du temps mis à les émettre. Les photos semblent interférer à travers le temps….

La figure suivante représente les directions selon lesquelles surviennent les interférences constructrices (ordres de diffraction) et destructrices.

Diffraction par 2 fentes

Représentation des ordres de diffraction engendrés par les interférences produites par les fentes rapprochées dans l’expérience de Young. L’aspect « grisé » uniforme dans certaines directions correspond à la « neutralisation » des trains d’ondes (interférences destructrices).

Explication géométrique des interférences (expérience de Young)

L’origine des phénomènes observés s’explique donc par la survenue d’interférence entre les ondes diffractées par les trous.

A gauche on a isolé deux trains d’onde qui interfèrent de manière destructive (décalage d’une demi longueur d’onde) : dans cette direction, l’intensité lumineuse est nulle. A droite au contraire, les ondes interfèrent de manière constructive: dans cette direction on observe un pic d’intensité. On conçoit que la longueur d’onde et la distance entre les trous conditionnent l’intensité et l’espacement des franges lumineuses

 

 Diffraction et oeil

En ce qui concerne l’oeil, le bord de la pupille irienne est la principale source de diffraction pour la lumière qui contribue à la formation de l’image rétinienne : physiologiquement, les effets de la diffraction sont négligeables tant que le diamètre pupillaire est supérieur à 2 mm environ. En deçà d’un millimètre, la diffraction pupillaire résulte en une dégradation notable de l’image rétinienne; toutefois, elle a comme corollaire une augmentation de la profondeur de champ. La pose d’un implant Kamra (néo pupille de 1.6 mm) permet d’augmenter la profondeur de champ de l’oeil, sans induire de dégradation majeure de la qualité de l’image rétinienne.

La diffraction détruit le stigmatisme rigoureux de l’optique géométrique, un œil optiquement parfait possède un stigmatisme rigoureux ; l’image d’un point est un point, où se rencontrent tous les rayons propagés à travers l’œil  En optique ondulatoire, la diffraction limite la qualité optique de l’œil, et ce d’autant plus que le diamètre de la pupille est petit (myosis). En l’absence d’aberrations optiques, la diffraction provoque un élargissement de la tâche focale rétinienne, qui devient plus large que l’image d’un point source infinitésimal. Ainsi, l’image d’un point n’est jamais un point ; mais une tâche qui correspond à un « étalement » lumineux. En plus de l’incontournable diffraction, cet étalement peut être accentué par la présence d’aberrations optiques. Il existe une fonction qui permet la représentation de l’étalement de l’énergie lumineuse correspondant à l’image d’un point source sur la rétine : la fonction d’étalement du point (FEP), plus communément désignée sous l’acronyme PSF (Point Spread Function).

Quand l’oeil est dépourvu d’aberrations optiques (situation théorique), seule la diffraction réduit le stigmatisme. La tache focale possède un aspect de tache d’Airy: un pic central lumineux entouré d’anneaux plus sombres. On peut prédire le diamètre du pic central en utilisant un peu de géométrie et un raisonnement relativement simple. Pour simplifier, on peut représenter non pas la pupille comme un disque mais comme une fente, en 2 dimensions.

Diffraction et calcul de la largeur de la tache d'Airy

Pour une fente de largeur D, il existe naturellement des interférences constructrices dans la direction horizontale: on observe un pic d’intensité dans la direction du trajet lumineux incident centré sur le centre de la fente lumineuse. Les interférences existent dans les autres directions (chaque point de la fente est considéré comme une source secondaire qui re émet la lumière dans toutes les directions: principe de Huyghens. On peut former des couples de points situés à une distance D/2 et pour lesquels l’angle ά est celui selon lequel la différence de marche est d’une demi longueur d’onde (ʎ/2). Pour tous ces couples de points, il y a une « neutralisation » mutuelle de l’intensité lumineuse dans la direction de ά. La valeur de l’angle ά dépend de la largeur de la fente D et la longueur d’onde ʎ (cet angle peut être approché par la valeur (ʎ /2) / (D/2) soit ʎ /D en radian, pour un petit angle : en effet ά = sin(ά) pour un petit angle ). La largeur de la tache lumineuse centrale (du pic central vers le premier minimum ) est égale au double de la valeur de ά soit 2 ʎ /D. Pour une pupille circulaire (et non une fente), il faut multiplier la valeur obtenue par 1.22. Si l’on réalise que la longueur d’onde est de l’ordre du micron, et D du millimètre (mille fois plus grand), on conçoit que cet angle est très petit, et les effets de la diffraction ne sont observable que dans des conditions particulières. Plus la longueur d’onde est grande, et plus la largeur est importante. Ainsi, la lumière bleue forme une tache focale plus étroite que la lumière rouge dans les mêmes conditions: c’est pour cela que les disques blu-ray (lus par un laser bleu focalisé sur le disque) contiennent plus d’information que les DVD (laser rouge).

On comprend intuitivement que lorsque la lumière rencontre un motif répétitif, constitué d’obstacles, ou de motifs répétés dont les dimensions sont relativement proches de celles de la longueur d’onde, des phénomènes interférentiels vont donner lieu à une distribution particulière de l’énergie lumineuse propagée (ou réfléchie). Ceci est mis à profit pour la réalisation des implants diffractifs multifocaux (dont les marches mesurent quelque microns): pour un implant bifocal, l’espacement des marches est calculé pour que la lumière diffractée dans l’ordre 1 soit dirigée vers un foyer correspondant à une addition utile pour la vision de près (vergence additionnelle : ex: +3D). Le design et la hauteur des marches diffractives ne permettent que de contrôler la répartition de l’énergie entre les ordres de diffraction. Le design d’un motif trifocal de diffraction repose sur les mêmes principes, appliqués de manière plus subtile.

On réalise ainsi que la longueur d’onde influe sur la direction de diffraction. Celle-ci est plus importante pour les grandes longueurs d’onde (rouge) que pour les courtes (bleu). Ainsi, la diffraction induit une déviation des couleurs opposées à celle de la réfraction (pour laquelle ce sont les courtes longueurs d’onde qui sont les plus déviées).

Dans la vie courante, on peut observer des effets de diffraction comme les reflets irisés de la face gravée d’un disque compact, qui relèvent d’un phénomène similaire: les angles selon lesquels on observe les couleurs correspondent à des angles de diffraction maximale par le réseau de diffraction (constitué à par la succession de creux et de bosses) pour chaque longueur d’onde ; la lumière qui éclaire le disque doit bien sûr être polychromatique (lumière blanche).

La diffraction influe moins que la présence d’aberration de haut degré sur la qualité de l’image rétinienne, du moins pour les diamètres de pupille courant (la diffraction prédomine pour un diamètre inférieur à 2 mm). Le calcul de la Point Spread Function (Fonction d’étalement du point) tient compte de la diffraction. En plus de permettre le calcul de la résolution théorique maximale des systèmes optiques (dont l’œil), l’étude de la PSF et son utilisation pour simuler l’image rétinienne d’un motif plus complexe qu’un simple point revêtent une importance particulière dans certaines circonstances cliniques.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *