+ +

Why see the myopic blur?

The universal symptoms of myopia is blurred vision by far, IE beyond a distance that is sometimes a few meters (low myopia), sometimes much less (a few tens of centimeters).

Why this blur? One sometimes reads the image formed in a myopic eye is located in a close-up too towards the retina. This is true, but may induce a false perception of the propagation of light and image formation mechanisms (see introduction on the) formation of images by eye).

Light and retinal image

The light does not image form until a "photosensitive" fabric does not interact with it. The light is a transport of information when interacting with the photosensitive retinal tissue, be converted into nerve impulses which give sensation to the brain perception of an image. As long as the light does not interact with matter, there is no image. The retinal photoreceptors (rods and cones) contain light-sensitive molecules (ex: rhodopsin) which absorb the energy of the light particles (photons) and convert them into nerve impulses through electrochemical changes. As long as the light that is refracted by the cornea and the lens has not reached the layer of photoreceptors, there are no retinal Imaging.

"" This seems obvious, but the statement of the "image formed in front of the retina ' implies that the image could form 'ex nihilo '. In a myopic eye, there is only an image, that which is formed on the retina. It is the sharpness of the retinal image which affects the sharpness of the image seen at the level of the Visual areas of the cerebral cortex.

Retinal image of the myopic blur

In fact, when the light emitted by one or several distant sources is focused by the cornea and the lens, there is a plan (called focal plane), where the image of the emitting source will be the sharpest possible (as long as you place a "screen", or a light-sensitive fabric as the layer of photoreceptors of the retina in the plan). Ahead of and behind the optimal plan of collection, the collected image will be more blurred. The focal plane is defined as the plan which focuses the light from a distant source.

One of the conditions for a clear vision is that the image captured by the retina is clear. If the retina is located in the focal plane of the lens 'cornea' couple, then the perceived image is the sharpest possible. So, the distance between the retina and cornea (axial length) determines the sharpness of the retinal image.

The following illustration shows a "Emmetropic" says look, for which the retina is in the focal plane of the horny + crystalline. The image of distant sources is clear, because each source point (component these distant objects) is focused on a one-time basis (or almost, because the pupillary diffraction prevents the formation of a truly one-off image) on the retina. In plans located forward or backward, the image that would be perceived by the retina (if she was actually in one of these plans) would be more blurred.

plan not myopic eye of the image

Retinal image in an Emmetropic eye formation. Terms of collection of the image (the retina) is located in the cornea and the crystalline lens focus plan (plan number 3). In other plans, a retina would collect a more blurry image: the defocus enlarging the image formed from each of the sources in a 'disc' even greater as you move away from the focal plane. The superposition of these discs creates a blurring of the image in the end. 

 

Myopia is linked to a mismatch between the plan which is located in the retina, and the focal plane of the cornea/lens couple. This plan is behind the focal plane (in farsightedness, he is forward). The perceived image is even blurrier as the eye grows (the collection of image plan back).

myopia plan myopic eye of the image

The retinal plan of a myopic eye (where is located the fovea) is located at the back of the plan where to focus the light emitted by distant sources. The retinal image formed in this plan is blurred.

 

Myopia and punctum point

Distant sources emit light usually represented as "spokes". They emit light in all directions, but the portion captured by the eye of these rays is small, and due to the distance to the source, these rays can be regarded as parallel, and focused in the focal plane of the cornea and the lens. This one is in front of the retina to a myopic eye. For the closest sources, the incident rays are more parallel but slightly divergent, and this divergence is responsible for their focus Back of the focal plane. There is a distance for which the rays of a near object focus on the retina. This distance is the 'punctum point' of the myopic eye.

myopia blurred and viewing distance

The distance from the observed source determines the degree of image seen in a myopic blur. Upstairs, the source is far away (to infinity), the rays emitted by each source within the image and picked up by the eye are considered to be parallels. If the eye gets closer to the source, this parallelism is reduced is the rays are captured in "divergence." To a certain degree of divergence, the focus of these rays occurs naturally on the retina: 'near' vision is clear, effortless to accommodation of the lens. The distance between the eye and the points of this plan (punctum point) is related to the degree of myopia.

The figure of correction of myopia (ex:-1.50 D) corresponds to the inverse of the distance (in meters) of the plan of the punctum point. If the eye must be placed 50 cm from a source to start to see NET, myopia is 1 / 0.5 = 2 diopters. For a no myopic eye (Emmetropic), the punctum point is located at infinite distance. Myopia is equal to 1 / ∞... either 0 D!

 

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Pourquoi le myope voit-il flou?

Le symptôme universel de la myopie est une vision floue de loin, c’est à dire au delà d’une distance qui est parfois de quelques mètres (myopie faible), parfois beaucoup moins (quelques dizaines de centimètres).

Pourquoi ce flou? On lit parfois que l’image formée dans un oeil myope se situe dans un plan trop rapproché vis à vis de la rétine; ceci est vrai, mais peut induire une perception erronée de la propagation de la lumière et des mécanismes liés à la formation des images (voir l’introduction sur la formation des images par l’oeil).

Lumière et image rétinienne

La lumière ne forme pas d’image tant qu’un tissu « photosensible » n’interagit pas avec elle. La lumière est un transport d’informations qui, lors d’une interaction avec le tissu rétinien photosensible, être convertie en influx nerveux et donner sensation à la perception cérébrale d’une image. Tant que la lumière n’interagit pas avec la matière, il n’y a pas d’image. Les photorécepteurs rétiniens (cônes et bâtonnets) contiennent des molécules photosensibles (ex: rhodopsine) qui absorbent l’énergie des particules lumineuses (photons) et les convertissent en influx nerveux grâce à des modifications électrochimique. Tant que la lumière qui est réfractée par la cornée puis le cristallin n’a pas atteint la couche des photorécepteurs, il n’y a pas de formation d’image rétinienne.

Ceci semble évident, mais l’énoncé de l' »image formée en avant de la rétine » suggère implicitement que l’image puisse se former « ex nihilo ». Dans un oeil myope, il n’y a qu’une image, celle qui est formée sur la rétine. C’est la netteté de cette image rétinienne qui conditionne la netteté de l’image perçue au niveau des aires visuelles du cortex cérébral.

Flou de l’image rétinienne du myope

En réalité, quand la lumière émise par une ou plusieurs sources lointaine est focalisée par la cornée et le cristallin, il existe un plan (appelée plan focal), où l’image de la source émettrice sera la plus nette possible (à condition de placer un « écran », ou un tissu photosensible comme la  couche des photorécepteurs de la rétine dans ce plan). En en avant et en arrière de ce plan optimal de recueil, l’image recueillie sera plus floue. Le plan focal est défini comme le plan où se focalise la lumière émise par une source lointaine.

Une des conditions pour une vision nette est que l’image recueillie par la rétine soit nette. Si la rétine est située dans le plan focal du couple « cornée cristallin », alors l’image perçue sera la plus nette possible. La distance entre la rétine et la cornée (longueur axiale) conditionne donc la netteté de l’image rétinienne.

L’illustration suivante représente un oeil dit « emmétrope », pour lequel la rétine est dans le plan focal de la cornée+cristallin. L’image de sources éloignées est nette, car chaque point source (composant ces objets éloignés) est focalisé de manière ponctuelle (ou quasi, car la diffraction pupillaire empêche la formation d’une image réellement ponctuelle) sur la rétine. Dans des plans situés en avant ou en arrière, l’image qui serait perçue par la rétine (si elle était effectivement dans l’un de ces plans) serait forcément plus floue.

oeil non myope plan de l'image

Formation de l’image rétinienne dans un oeil emmétrope. Le plan de recueil de l’image (la rétine) est situé dans le plan de focalisation de la cornée et du cristallin (plan numéro 3). Dans les autres plans, une rétine recueillerait une image plus floue: la défocalisation élargissant l’image formée de chacun des points sources en un « disque » d’autant plus grand que l’on s’éloigne du plan focal. La superposition de ces disques crée au final un flou de l’image. 

 

La myopie est liée à une inadéquation entre le plan où est situé à la rétine, et le plan focal du couple cornée/cristallin. Ce plan est en arrière du plan focal (dans l’hypermétropie, il est en avant). L’image perçue est d’autant plus floue que l’oeil s’allonge (le plan de recueil de l’image recule).

myopie oeil myope plan de l'image

Le plan rétinien d’un oeil myope (où se situe la fovéa) est situé en arrière du plan où focalise la lumière émise par des sources lointaines. L’image rétinienne formée dans ce plan est floue.

 

Myopie et punctum remotum

Les sources lointaines émettent la lumière que l’on représente généralement sous forme de « rayons ». Elles émettent de la lumière dans toutes les directions, mais la portion captée par l’oeil de ces rayons est petite, et en raison de la distance avec la source, ces rayons peuvent être considérés comme parallèles, et focalisés dans le plan focal de la cornée et du cristallin. Celui-ci est en avant de la rétine pour un oeil myope. Pour des sources plus rapprochées, les rayons incidents ne sont plus parallèles mais légèrement divergents, et cette divergence est responsable de leur focalisation en arrière du plan focal. Il existe une distance pour laquelle les rayons d’un objet rapproché se focalisent sur la rétine. Cette distance est celle du « punctum remotum » de l’oeil myope.

myopie flou et distance d'observation

La distance de la source observée conditionne le degré de flou de l’image perçue chez un myope. En haut, la source est lointaine (à l’infini), les rayons émis par chaque source au sein de l’image et captés par l’oeil sont considérés comme parallèles. Si l’oeil se rapproche de la source, ce parallélisme se réduit est les rayons sont captés en « divergence ». Pour un certain degré de divergence, la focalisation de ces rayons se fait naturellement sur la rétine: la vision « de près » est nette, sans effort d’accommodation du cristallin. La distance entre l’oeil et les points de ce plan (punctum remotum) est liée au degré de myopie.

Le chiffre de correction de myopie (ex : -1.50 D) correspond à l’inverse de la distance (en mètre) du plan du punctum remotum. Si l’oeil doit se placer à 50 cm d’une source pour commencer à la voir nette, la myopie est de 1/0.5= 2 Dioptries. Pour un oeil non myope (emmétrope), le punctum remotum est situé à une distance infinie. La myopie est égale à 1/ ∞ … soit 0 D !

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *