+ +

Amplification of laser light

We have seen how the stimulated emission can produce LASER light, to special properties: consistency, spectral purity, directional aspect. However you have to mind that trigger a stimulated emission is only a part of work to achieve a usable laser light source: without secondary amplification, it is not possible to generate a beam of LASER light at the exit of the cavity.

The only stimulated emission limits

The following scenario to understand why the amplification of the laser light to generate a beam out of the cavity.

We can imagine that once the reversal of population created in an environment, a first atom is greater spontaneously, causing a first photon. This photon has a great chance to meet in turn a second excited Atom, and cause the creation of a second photon. One of these photons can continue its journey and get out of the cavity - or be absorbed by one of the atoms not excited (even though their proportion is less than that of the excited atoms),.. .and the other cause a new delay, leading to the appearance of a new photon, before these two - here to come out of the middle. It will be then created 3 photons... there where there should be of the order of 10 19 to produce a light energy of one Joule!

Amplify and perpetuate the phenomenon of stimulated emission, to be able to maintain the photons generated by the show stimulated in the cavity containing the Middle excited; This phenomenon of stimulated emissions to reach a certain size. To achieve this goal, we use mirrors that you can place on part and on the other the Middle, on which the photons will bounce, and will be returned to the environment.

These mirrors are not truly the same as those of the bathrooms. their surface is not covered of a metal film but multiple layers, different refractive index, so as to create the necessary conditions so that the generated laser radiation-specific light wavelengths is reflected. We will see further the importance of that curvature and the distance separating these mirrors, between which the wavelike properties of the lights induce phenomena of "resonance". The laser cavity equipped with these two mirrors behaves then like a "resonator". One of these mirrors is partially transparent, so as to produce output laser radiation: this radiation can then be used for the required purposes: the radiation emitted at the exit of the cavity has been amplified between the mirrors; with the curvature and alignment are designed to facilitate the issuance of a directional light.

Loss and gain of the laser cavity

The radiation produced by the cavity to the outside is however 'lost' for the maintenance of the stimulated emission: If the transparency of the mirror is 5%, this means that out of 100 incident photons, 5 come out to generate laser radiation, 95 others will be reflected and returned towards the middle to produce new desexcitations and generate other photons. This means that the gain after this trip is at least 5% higher represented by the loss of the output mirror, lest the process of stimulated emission extinguish, "lack of fighters" (or rather lack of a sufficient number of photons).

In addition, factors other than the output of a certain number of photons have reduce the magnitude of the stimulated emission (i.e. the probability that a photon emitted by stimulation meets an excited Atom, and produce a second photon by delay). Indeed, when the photons emitted by stimulated emission encounter excited atoms, they in turn produce a new show stimulated, but... at the cost of a decrease in the number of excited atoms present in the environment. Therefore, constantly offset this reduction by an external input of energy (excitement of the environment). Photons produced by stimulated emission also also calling out of the cavity of the laser at any given time, and some are also absorbed, scattered, and thus lost to maintain the phenomenon of stimulated emission.

 

In total, this subtle antagonism losses and gain has two consequences:

-We need to reach a certain threshold of stimulated emission to gain, that is, the energy supplied in the Middle allows a population inversion and the beginning of a stimulated show maintained, i.e. higher than the cavity losses. In this case, the number of photons produced by stimulated emission grows gradually, but not indefinitely: it necessarily involved a "regulation" that makes the gain once the stimulated emission and resonance in the cavity remains constant (this gain is the difference between the contribution of the stimulated emission and losses by spontaneous absorption, diffraction, etc. in the cavity). This occurs regardless of the power supplied to the system. To understand this balance, it must be remembered that over there is desexcitations and stimulated emission, more produced identical photons, but fewer atoms likely to encounter these photons there...

 

-If one increases the energy supplied to the system, it does not increase the gain, but only the intensity (power) of output of the laser. It could be argued that simply to increase the transmission of the output mirror to increase the power obtained output: this may actually reduce the number of photons present in the cavity and thus reduce the rate of stimulated emission... There are for each laser optimum transmission, which allows to produce the maximum possible power without reducing the internal power of the laser.

For a constant power laser, the gain and therefore the power flowing in the laser range (oscillate) over time, because the increase in the production of photons by stimulated emission mechanically induced a reduction in the proportion of the excited atoms, and vice versa.

gain and power of the laser cavity

Schematic representation of the circulating power in a laser cavity: gain related to the stimulated emission, which occurs when the stream of photons meets the excited environment allows to compensate for losses related to the light emission output and absorption and diffusion phenomena.

 

We therefore understand why the cavity containing the excited environment had to be framed mirrors, because this allows the photons generated by the show stimulated to perpetuate it. However, in addition to its particle component (photons), light has wave properties (the energy of the photons is proportional to their "frequency"). Because it has a certain length in the axis of the mirrors; a cavity will serve of resonator for some frequencies of light, which has a significant impact on the quality of the produced radiation.

The following illustration is a picture of the cavity of an excimer laser used for refractive surgery (laser EX500, wavelight).

excimer laser cavity

Cavity Laser (excimer) and exit hole (EX500 Wavelight laser)

 

Characteristics of the resonator, consequences on the LASER radiation

 

Before addressing the characteristics in the frequency of the radiation produced by the cavity, back on the fact that inside the of the resonator, the photons emitted by stimulated emission circulate one mirror to another: the profile of energy created in a transverse plan marries a profile in "Bell", whose peak is located in the center of the cavity. This profile to a "Gaussian", one speaks of Gaussian profile. It presents noted wide 'w' (' for ' waist ' in English) which matches the width defined for the laser beam in energy terms.  The width of the LASER energy profile definition is arbitrary, because the beam has no sharp edges: by convention, when at a distance radiaire w of the central peak, the intensity is more than 13 per cent, the LASER energy is considered negligible.

profile Gaussian LASER light energy

The (RADIUS) within a cavity (main mode) laser Gaussian beam width is a function of the Gaussian peak of intensity measured in the transverse plane (perpendicular to the axis of the cavity and parallel to the axis of the mirrors). This width is defined as the radial distance at which the intensity of the beam is more than 13% of that of the central peak. In this representation, the profile is studied in cross-section (mirrors of the cavity would be directed vertically, in the corresponding axis in intensity)

The formula that provides the profile of the Gaussian beam intensity is I = Io exp (-2 x)2/w2).

Do not confuse the intensity of the Gaussian beam and its curvature: the intensity is equal to the square of the amplitude of the wave front coherent light that spreads into the cavity and "resonates" between the mirrors.

The radius of the Gaussian beam is its direction of propagation, and is one of the wave front formed by trains of coherent light (do not confuse the radius of curvature and the RADIUS which corresponds to the size of the beam). The radius of curvature is "infinite" at the level of the minimum diameter of the beam (diameter to for RADIUS w)o), and then decreases quickly before to grow again.

 

curvature of the beam in the cavity

Schematic representation of the curvature of the beam in the cavity.

 

 

A formula is used to calculate the width of the beam at a given propagation distance, if one knows its minimum radius (wo). This is important, because you can play on the w parametero to adjust the radius of the beam in such a way that it is the size you want when it reaches its target.

width of the laser beam

2W represents the width (diameter) of the laser beam after a spread over a distance of Z metres since its minimum diameter (w0). For a distance between instrument and eye, some cm, we can calculate only a beam of infra-red light (emitted by a laser Nd:YAG) wavelength equal to 1.06 microns is undergoing a significant expansion (of the order of a micron). If this bundle is progageait to the Moon, its diameter would however reach a few hundred kilometres. It is important to note that most Wo is big, and less the beam diverges, and vice versa.

 

It is also possible to calculate the radius of curvature of the beam propagating in the laser cavity Gaussian: this can be useful in designing the optimal geometry of the mirrors that surround the resonator. We built a cavity which we of course know the length: one can then calculate the curvature of the Wavefront of the oscillation laser at a given distance from the place where the Gaussian beam has a minimum radius (wo). Then simply make mirrors that have the same RADIUS. The Department of energy that circulates through the cavity is perpendicular to the envelope of the wave front, and at each point of the mirror thus designed, the reflected rays have the same angle as the incident rays. In this configuration, the resonance of the laser cavity will be known as "stable". There is a mathematical relationship between the radii of curvature of mirrors, the distance between them, with the possibility of inducing a stability at the level of the laser cavity.

It is interesting to note that this condition is independent of the wavelength, and therefore the type of radiation emitted by the excited middle. However, the wave nature of light is that only some radiation, specific wavelength, can be put in "resonance" in a same cavity.

 

Longitudinal LASER modes

For a given cavity length (L), the radiation that are likely to resonate in a longitudinal way (across the cavity) are those for which a whole number of half length of waves can register between the mirrors.

This condition is expressed as: n x (ʎ/2) = L where n is an integer.

Resonance mode, cavity

A radiation can be amplified between the mirrors (M1 and M2) if the position of these correspond to a 'mode '; the condition is met when the distance between the mirrors (L) is equal to a whole number of half wavelengths. The place of the modes, the amplitude of the electromagnetic field is zero.

The wavelengths can therefore resonate are given by:

ʎ = 2 L/n

We can convert this expression in the frequency domain:

Frequency and wavelength in vacuum are connected by: ʎ = c/F (c: speed of light)

We get the formula that provides the spectrum that can resonate in a cavity of length L:

Fn = n (c/2xL), where n is an integer

The resonant frequencies are separated by intervals of (c/2xL).

cavity and frequencies laser

The interval between the resonant frequencies located on part of the main frequency within a laser cavity only depends on the width of it, and not the medium used to generate laser radiation. More the cavity is short, and more the difference between the frequencies is important, and vice versa. To restrict the emitted frequency range, it is therefore necessary to use a longer cavity. For a 30 cm cavity, C / 2 L = 5 x 10-8 Hz, is 500 Mz. At this point, a question may be: what is the show stimulated in a cavity provides a range of wider radiation around the main peak 500 MH2? The answer is Yes!

As a result, a laser cavity has the geometry required to produce a spectrum of frequency corresponding to different longitudinal modes. This happens in practice because unlike the simplified model of the stimulated emission (restricted to an equivalent to a single resignation frequency energy transition), the phenomena of stimulated emission cause the emission of radiation whose frequency spectrum is not restricted to a frequency, but concerns a wide bandwidth. Here are a few of the reasons:

-The electrons are not as discrete energy levels that the simplified model suggests

-Complex phenomena such as the optical Doppler effect induce variations in frequency of the photons emitted for lasers which is gaseous: atoms or constituent molecules of these gases are fast moving, which leads to a broadening of the frequencies of Photonics show.

-Intra Cavitary pressure for gas lasers affects the probability of meeting of an excited Atom or molecule: lower this probability (less pressure, fewer molecules) and more bandwidth of the laser cavity is narrow, and vice versa.

For example, the gas (Helium Neon) laser emits a laser radiation composed of several frequencies, due to different transitions of the Neon Atom, which is excited by collision with the Helium atoms. The most intense matches a visible wavelength in the Red (632.8nm): enlargement by frequency related to the Doppler effect is close to 1.4 GHz: enlargement, however, allow a length of close coherence of 20 to 30 cm. If we can reduce this bandwidth 1 Mhz (by ' purifying' the emitted radiation), the coherence length can reach several hundred metres.

 

Depending on the application, various methods exist for 'purifying spectrally' the radiation emitted by the laser. For example, we can position a dispersive element to the center of the cavity (Prism, and/or Diffractive network), so as to deflect some radiation of wavelength (so a particular frequency) of the cavity axis.

Conversely, there is a type of laser emitting of pulse ultra brief, where the use of a range of radiation of different consecutive frequencies is desired, but these frequencies must be perfectly synchronized to generate of pulses very short: it's the principle of the technology of femtosecond laser.

 

Lasers pulsed lasers vs continuous

Lasers can deliver their (constant in time) continuously or pulsed radiation. Some lasers using a gaseous environment (ex: Helium Neon: no He) are lasers which provide a continuous program. Excimer lasers femtosecond lasers or even laser Nd: Yag used in ophtalmolgie are pulsed lasers.

With pulsed lasers, the delivered energy can be concentrated at the time: in other words, the emitted power (energy per unit of time) may be increased. A laser that emits 1 Joule in a second has a power of 1 Watt. If the Joule is emitted over a period of 10-6 seconds, the generated power is 1000 Watts. The issue period is the time between two pulses. Depending on the applications (medical or industrial) the power emitted by the excimer lasers varies between 0.50 and 50 Watt.

The peak power is equal to the energy delivered by the pulse on the duration of the pulse itself. The transmission time of pulses emitted by the femtosecond lasers is some hundreds of femtosecond (a femto second equals 10-15 seconds): this duration is very short in terms of the period (time between two pulses, of the order of 5-10)-6 seconds with a 200 KHz as the FS 200 Wavelight laser). The energy delivered in one pulse is weak, of the order of a joule (10 micro-6 (J), but extremely brief time of the show ensures a very high peak power, able to ionize matter by defeating the force between the electrons and atomic nuclei (see here for more information on the orders of magnitude)

One response to "laser light Amplification"

  1. BUI says:

    Hello
    Your explanations are very clear
    With my thanks
    Dr Yen BUI

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Amplification de la lumière laser

Nous avons vu comment l’émission stimulée pouvait produire de la lumière LASER, aux propriétés particulières: cohérence, pureté spectrale, aspect directionnel. Il faut cependant avoir à l’esprit que déclencher une émission stimulée ne représente qu’une partie du travail consistant à réaliser une source utilisable de lumière laser: sans amplification secondaire, il n’est pas possible de générer un faisceau de lumière LASER à la sortie de la cavité.

Limites de l’émission stimulée seule

Le scénario suivant permet de comprendre pourquoi l’amplification de la lumière laser pour générer un faisceau à la sortie de la cavité.

Nous pouvons imaginer qu’une fois l’inversion de population créée dans un milieu, un premier atome se désexcite spontanément, engendrant un premier photon. Ce photon a de grande chance de rencontrer à son tour un second atome excité, et provoquer la création d’un second photon. Un de ces photons peut continuer son trajet et sortir de la cavité – ou être absorbé par un des atomes non excités (même si leur proportion est moindre que celle des atomes excités), …et l’autre provoquer une nouvelle désexcitation, conduisant à l’apparition d’un nouveau photon, avant que ces deux-là de sortent également du milieu. On aura alors engendré 3 photons… là où il en faudrait de l’ordre de 10 19 pour produire une énergie lumineuse d’un Joule !

Pour amplifier et perpétuer le phénomène d’émission stimulée, il faut réussir à maintenir les photons engendrés par l’émission stimulée dans la cavité contenant le milieu excité; pour que ce phénomène d’émission stimulée atteigne une certaine ampleur. Pour atteindre cet objectif, on utilise des miroirs que l’on place de part et d’autre du milieu, sur lequel les photons vont rebondir, et seront  renvoyés vers le milieu.

Ces miroirs ne sont pas véritablement les mêmes que ceux des salles de bain ; leur surface n’est pas recouverte d’un film métallique mais de couches multiples, d’indice réfractif différent, de manière à créer les conditions requises pour que les  longueurs d’ondes lumineuses propres au rayonnement laser généré s’y reflètent. Nous verrons plus loin l’importance de que revêtent la courbure et la distance séparant ces miroirs, entre lesquels les propriétés ondulatoires de la lumières induisent des phénomènes de « résonance ». La cavité laser munie de ces deux miroirs se comporte alors comme un « résonateur ». Un de ces miroirs est partiellement transparent, de manière à produire en sortie le rayonnement laser : ce rayonnement peut alors être utilisé pour les fins requises: le rayonnement émis à la sortie de la cavité a été amplifié entre les miroirs; dont la courbure et l’alignement sont conçus pour favoriser l’émission d’une lumière directionnelle.

Pertes et gain de la cavité laser

Le rayonnement produit par la cavité vers l’extérieur est toutefois « perdu » pour l’entretien de l’émission stimulée : si la transparence du miroir est de 5%,  cela veut dire que sur 100 photons incidents, 5 sortiront pour générer le rayonnement laser, les 95 autres seront réfléchis et renvoyés vers le milieu pour produire de nouvelles désexcitations et générer d’autres photons. Il faut donc que le gain après ce trajet aller-retour soit au moins supérieur aux 5% représentés par la perte du miroir de sortie, sous peine de voir le processus d’émission stimulée s’éteindre, « faute de combattants » (ou plutôt faute d’un nombre suffisant de photons).

De plus, d’autres facteurs que la sortie d’un certain nombre de photons ont pour conséquence de réduire l’ampleur de l’émission stimulée (c’est-à-dire la probabilité qu’un photon émis par stimulation rencontre un atome excité, et produise un second photon par désexcitation). En effet, quand les photons émis par émission stimulée rencontrent des atomes excités, ils produisent à leur tour une nouvelle émission stimulée, mais … au prix d’une diminution du nombre d’atomes excités présents dans le milieu. Il faut donc constamment compenser cette réduction par un apport extérieur d’énergie (excitation du milieu). Par ailleurs, les photons produits par émission stimulée ont également vocation à sortir de la cavité du laser à un moment donné, et certains sont également absorbés, diffractés, et donc perdus pour entretenir le phénomène d’émission stimulée.

 

Au total, cet antagonisme subtil pertes et gain a deux conséquences :

–          Il faut atteindre un certain seuil d’émission stimulée pour obtenir un gain, c’est-à-dire que l’énergie fournie au milieu permettent une inversion de population et le début d’une l’émission stimulée entretenue, c’est-à-dire supérieure aux pertes de la cavité. Dans ce cas, le nombre de photons produits par émission stimulée croît progressivement, mais pas indéfiniment : il intervient nécessairement une « régulation » qui fait que le gain obtenu une fois l’émission stimulée et la résonance dans la cavité demeure constant (ce gain est la différence entre l’apport de l’émission stimulée et les pertes par absorption spontanée, diffraction, etc. dans la cavité). Ceci survient quelle que soit la puissance fournie au système. Pour comprendre cet équilibre, il faut se souvenir que plus il y a de désexcitations et d’émission stimulée, plus on produit de photons identiques, mais moins il y a d’atomes susceptibles de rencontrer ces photons…

 

–        Si l’on accroit l’énergie fournie au système, on  n’augmente pas le gain, mais uniquement l’intensité (la puissance) de sortie du laser. On pourrait objecter qu’il suffit d’augmenter la transmission du miroir de sortie pour augmenter la puissance obtenue en sortie : ceci risque en réalité de réduire le nombre de photons présents dans la cavité et donc réduire le taux d’émission stimulée… Il existe pour chaque laser une transmission optimale, qui permet de produire le maximum de puissance possible sans réduire la puissance interne du laser.

Pour une puissance constante fournie au laser, le gain et donc la puissance circulant dans le laser varient (oscillent) au fil du temps, car l’augmentation de la production de photons par émission stimulée induit mécaniquement une réduction de la proportion des atomes excités, et vice versa.

gain et puissance de la cavité laser

Représentation schématique de la puissance circulante au sein d’une cavité laser: le gain lié à l’émission stimulée, qui se produit quand le flux de photons rencontre le milieu excité permet de compenser les pertes liées à l’émission lumineuse en sortie, et les phénomènes d’absorption et de diffusion.

 

Nous avons donc compris pourquoi la cavité contenant le milieu excité devait être encadrée de miroirs, car ceci permet aux photons engendrés par l’émission stimulée de perpétuer celle-ci. Toutefois, outre sa composante corpusculaire (les photons), la lumière est dotée de propriétés ondulatoires (l’énergie des photons est proportionnelle à leur « fréquence »). Parce qu’elle possède une certaine longueur dans l’axe des miroirs; a cavité va faire office de résonateur pour certaines fréquences lumineuses, ce qui a d’importantes conséquences sur la qualité du rayonnement produit.

L’illustration suivante est une photo de la cavité d’un laser excimer utilisé pour la chirurgie réfractive (laser EX500,  wavelight).

cavité laser excimer

Cavité laser (excimer) et orifice de sortie (laser EX500 Wavelight)

 

Caractéristiques du résonateur, conséquences sur le rayonnement LASER

 

Avant d’aborder les caractéristiques en fréquence du rayonnement produit par la cavité,  revenons sur le fait qu’à l l’intérieur du résonateur, les photons émis par émission stimulée circulent d’un miroir à l’autre : le profil d’énergie créé dans un plan transversal  épouse un profil en « cloche », dont le pic est situé au centre de la cavité. Ce profil à une allure « Gaussienne », on parle de profil Gaussien. Il présente une largeur notée « w » (pour ‘waist » en anglais) qui correspond en terme énergétique à la largeur définie pour le faisceau laser.  La définition de  la largeur du profil d’énergie LASER est arbitraire, car le faisceau n’a pas de bords nets : par convention, quand à une distance radiaire w du pic central, l’intensité n’est plus que de 13% environ, on considère que l’énergie LASER est négligeable.

profil énergétique gaussien de la lumière LASER

La largeur (rayon) du faisceau gaussien au sein d’une cavité laser (mode principal) est une fonction du pic gaussien d’intensité mesuré dans le plan transversal (parallèle à l’axe des miroirs et perpendiculaire à l’axe de la cavité). Cette largeur est définie comme la distance radiale à laquelle l’intensité du faisceau n’est plus que de 13% de celle du pic central. Dans cette représentation, le profil est étudié en coupe transversale (les miroirs de la cavité seraient orientés verticalement, dans l’axe correspondant à l’intensité)

La formule qui fournit le profil d’intensité du faisceau gaussien est I = Io exp ( -2x2/w2).

Il ne faut pas confondre l’intensité du faisceau gaussien et sa courbure : l’intensité est égale au carré de l’amplitude du front d’onde de lumière cohérente qui se propage dans la cavité et « résonne » entre les miroirs.

Le rayon de courbure du faisceau gaussien concerne sa direction de propagation, et est celui du front d’onde que forment les trains de lumière cohérente (il ne faut pas confondre le rayon de courbure, et le rayon qui correspond à la dimension du faisceau). Le rayon de courbure est « infini » au niveau du diamètre minimum du faisceau (ce diamètre à pour rayon wo),  puis décroit rapidement avant de croitre à nouveau.

 

courbure du faisceau laser dans la cavité

Représentation schématique de la courbure du faisceau laser dans la cavité.

 

 

Une formule permet de calculer la largeur du faisceau à une distance de propagation donnée, si l’on connait son rayon minimal (wo). Ceci revêt une importance, car on peut jouer sur le paramètre wo pour ajuster le rayon du faisceau de manière à ce qu’il est la dimension souhaitée lorsqu’il atteint sa cible.

largeur du faisceau laser

2W représente la largeur (le diamètre) du faisceau laser après une propagation sur une distance de Z mètres depuis son diamètre minimal (w0). Pour une distance entre instrument et œil, de quelque cm, on peut calculer qu’un faisceau de lumière infra rouge (émis par un laser Nd:YAG) de longueur d’onde égale à 1.06 microns subit un élargissement négligeable (de l’ordre du micron). Si ce faisceau se progageait jusqu’à la lune, son diamètre atteindrait toutefois quelques centaines de kilomètres. Il est important de noter que plus Wo est grand, et moins le faisceau diverge, et inversement.

 

Il est également possible de calculer le rayon de courbure du faisceau gaussien se propageant dans la cavité laser : ceci peut s’avérer utile pour concevoir la géométrie optimale des miroirs qui encadrent le résonateur. On construit une cavité dont on connait bien sûr la longueur:  on peut alors calculer la courbure du front d’onde de l’oscillation laser à une distance donnée de l’endroit où le faisceau gaussien a un rayon minimum (wo). Il suffit ensuite de fabriquer des miroirs qui ont le même rayon. En effet la direction de l’énergie qui circule dans la cavité est perpendiculaire à l’enveloppe du front d’onde, et en chaque point du miroir ainsi conçu, les rayons réfléchis ont le même angle que les rayons incidents. Dans cette configuration, la cavité de résonance du laser sera dite « stable ». Il existe une relation mathématique qui relie les rayons de courbure des miroirs, la distance qui les séparent, avec la possibilité d’induire une stabilité au niveau de la cavité du laser.

Il est intéressant de noter que cette condition est indépendante de la longueur d’onde, et donc du type de radiation émise par le milieu excité. Cependant,  la nature ondulatoire de la lumière fait que seuls certains rayonnements, de longueur d’onde spécifique,  peuvent être mis en « résonance » dans une même cavité.

 

Modes LASER longitudinaux

Pour une longueur de cavité donnée (L), les rayonnements qui sont susceptibles de résonner de manière longitudinale (d’un bout à l’autre de la cavité) sont ceux pour lesquels  un nombre entier de demi-longueur d’ondes peut s’inscrire entre les miroirs.

Cette condition s’exprime comme : n x (ʎ/2)= L où n est un nombre entier.

Mode de résonnance, cavité

Un rayonnement peut être amplifié entre les miroirs (M1 et M2) si la position de ceux-ci correspond à un « mode »; la condition est remplie quand la distance entre les miroirs (L) est égale à un nombre entier de demi longueurs d’onde. A l’endroit des modes, l’amplitude du champ électromagnétique est nulle.

Les longueurs d’onde pouvant donc résonner sont données par :

ʎ = 2 L/n

On peut convertir cette expression dans le domaine fréquentiel :

Fréquence et longueur d’onde dans le vide sont reliées par : ʎ =c/F (c : vitesse de la lumière)

On obtient la formule qui fournit les fréquences pouvant résonner dans une cavité de longueur L :

Fn = n (c/2xL), où n est un entier

Les fréquences résonnantes sont séparées d’intervalles de (c/2xL).

cavité et fréquences laser

L’intervalle entre les fréquences résonnantes situées de part et d’autre de la fréquence principale au sein d’une cavité laser ne dépend que de la largeur de celle-ci, et non du milieu utilisé pour générer le rayonnement laser. Plus la cavité est courte, et plus l’écart entre les fréquences est important, et inversement. Pour restreindre la gamme de fréquence émises, il est donc nécessaire d’utiliser une cavité plus longue. Pour une cavité de 30 cm, C/2L = 5 x 10 8 Hz, soit 500 Mz. A ce stade, une question peut être : est-ce que l’émission stimulée dans une cavité procure une gamme de rayonnement plus large autour du pic principal que 500 MH2? La réponse est oui !

De ce fait, une cavité laser possède la géométrie requise pour produire  un spectre de fréquence correspondant à différents modes longitudinaux. Ceci survient en pratique car contrairement au modèle simplifié de l’émission stimulée (restreinte à une transition énergétique équivalente à une fréquence démission unique), les phénomènes d’émission stimulée provoquent l’émission d’un rayonnement dont le spectre en fréquence n’est pas restreint à une fréquence, mais concerne une large bande passante. En voici quelques unes des raisons:

–          Les électrons n’occupent pas des niveaux énergétiques aussi discrets que le modèle simplifié suggère

–          Des phénomènes complexes comme l’effet Doppler optique induisent des variations de fréquence des photons émis pour les lasers dont le milieu est gazeux : les atomes ou molécules constitutives de ces gaz sont en mouvement rapide, ce qui induit un élargissement des fréquences d’émission photonique.

–          La pression intra cavitaire pour les lasers à gaz influe sur la probabilité de rencontre d’un atome ou molécule excité : plus cette probabilité est faible (moindre pression, moindre nombre de molécules) et plus la bande passante de la cavité laser est étroite, et inversement.

Par exemple, le laser à gaz (Hélium Néon) émet un rayonnement laser composé de plusieurs fréquences, en raison des différentes transitions de l’atome de Néon, qui est excité par collision avec les atomes d’Hélium. La plus intense correspond à une longueur d’onde visible dans le rouge (632.8nm) : l’élargissement en fréquence lié à l’effet Doppler est proche de 1.4 GHz : cet élargissement autorise toutefois une longueur de cohérence proche de 20 à 30 cm. Si on arrive à réduire cette bande passante à 1 Mhz (en « purifiant » le rayonnement émis), la longueur de cohérence peut atteindre plusieurs centaine de mètres.

 

En fonction de l’application envisagée, diverses méthodes existent pour « purifier spectralement» le rayonnement émis par le laser. On peut par exemple positionner un élément dispersif au centre de la cavité (prisme, et/ou réseau diffractif), de manière à faire dévier certains rayonnements de longueur d’onde (donc des fréquence particulière) de l’axe de la cavité.

A l’inverse, il existe un type de laser émettant des pulses ultra brefs, où l’utilisation d’une plage de rayonnement de différentes fréquences consécutives est souhaité, mais ces fréquences doivent être parfaitement synchronisées pour générer des pulses extrêmement courts : c’est le principe des technologies de laser femtoseconde.

 

Lasers continus vs lasers pulsés

Les lasers peuvent délivrer leur rayonnement de manière continue (constante dans le temps) ou pulsée. Certains lasers utilisant un milieu gazeux (ex : Hélium Néon : He/Ne) sont des lasers qui procurent une émission continue. Les lasers à excimères, les lasers femtoseconde ou encore le laser Nd :Yag utilisés en ophtalmolgie sont des lasers pulsés.

Avec les lasers pulsés, l’énergie délivrée peut être concentrée dans le temps : en d’autres termes, la puissance émise (énergie par unité de temps) peut être augmentée. Un laser qui émet 1 Joule en une seconde a une puissance de 1 Watt. Si ce Joule est émis sur une période de 10-6 secondes, la puissance générée est de 1000 Watts. La période d’émission correspond à la durée qui sépare deux pulses. En fonction des applications (médicales ou industrielles) la puissance émise par les lasers excimères varie entre 0.50 et 50 Watt.

La puissance crête est égale à l’énergie délivrée par le pulse sur la durée du pulse lui-même. La durée d’émission des pulses émis par les lasers femtoseconde est de quelque centaines de femtoseconde (une femto seconde est égale à 10-15 secondes) : cette durée est extrêmement brève au regard de la période (durée séparant deux pulses, de l’ordre de 5. 10-6 secondes avec un laser à 200 KHz comme le Wavelight FS 200). L’énergie délivrée dans un pulse est faible, de l’ordre d’une micro joule (10-6 J), mais le temps extrêmement bref de l’émission garantit une puissance crête très élevée, à même d’ioniser la matière en vainquant la force reliant les électrons aux noyaux atomiques (voir ici pour plus d’informations chiffrées sur les ordres de grandeur)

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *