+ +

Point node (nodes)

The nodal points of an optical system are rated cardinal points N and not are two combined points (one - point node image is the image of the other, the point node object) they are located on the optical axis, and such as to any incident Ray passing through the point node object, match an emerging Ray through the nodal point image and parallel to the incident Ray. When the optical system is located in an environment where the index of refraction of the Middle image and the environment object are identical, the nodal points are confused with the main points.

The anatomic proximity of two nodes allow their merger in a 'single nodal point' for calculations at theVisual acuity (angular resolving power). The nodal point is located near the posterior crystalloid, and we generally choose a distance of 16.7 mm between the nodal point and the fovea for calculations.

representation of the nodes

When the middle where emerges the RADIUS has a different price reduction index from the middle of the incident Ray, we can set another pair of (distinct from the main points) points, called nodes, and for which the angular magnification is 1: the incident rays directed to the nodal point of entry give each emerging RADIUS which forms the same angle with the optical axis of the incident Ray. The distance NN' is equal to the distance PP 'and one can show that the FP distance is equal to the distance didn't F'.

Geometric relations between the nodal points and the other cardinal points are represented in the following diagram:

Diagram of the nodal and focal points

In algebraic value (positive distance to the right and negative to the left) we can ask: FN = P 'F' = f' F 'Not = F 'P' + P' doesn't = NF + fn = PF = f fn = FP + FN = F' no + P 'F' = P 'Doesn't = f + f'

 

In photography, the rear nodal point is one around which rotate the device if you want to take several shots without that live their position with respect to the plan focal image moves.

In the case of the human eye, the Middle image is the vitreous (n = 1336), which is different from the middle of the air (n = 1). For a standard model look, the nodal points its located on both sides of the posterior capsule of the lens, "backward" (in the sense of the propagation of light) key points P and P'

Representation of the location of the nodal points of the human eye

For a look at rest (no accommodation), the nodal points N and are located on both of the posterior crystalloid (posterior capsule of the lens). The distance didn't F ' is estimated at 16.7 mm. The P 'F' distance is estimated close to 22.3 mm, and the distance of PN = P' doesn't = 5.6 mm. F is the home object of the eye: its sharp image would be formed to infinity (if the retina is not was on the way to the light Ray).

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

Point Nodal (points nodaux)

Les points nodaux d’un système optique sont des points cardinaux notés N et N’ sont deux points conjugués (l’un – le point nodal image est l’image de l’autre, le point nodal objet) Ils sont  situés sur l’axe optique, et tels qu’à tout rayon incident passant par le point nodal objet, corresponde un rayon émergent passant par le point nodal image et parallèle au rayon incident. Quand le système optique est situé dans un milieu où l’indice de réfraction du milieu image et du milieu objet sont identiques, les points nodaux sont confondus avec les points principaux.

La proximité anatomique des deux points nodaux autorisent leur fusion en un « point nodal unique » pour les calculs relatifs à l’acuité visuelle (pouvoir séparateur angulaire). Ce point nodal est situé à proximité de la cristalloïde postérieure, et on choisit généralement une distance de 16.7 mm entre le point nodal et la fovéa pour les calculs.

représentation des points nodaux

Quand le milieu où émerge  le rayon a un indice de réfaction différent du milieu du rayon incident, on peut définir une autre paire de points (distincts des points principaux), appelée points nodaux, et pour lesquels le grandissement angulaire est égal à 1: les rayons incidents dirigés vers le point nodal d’entrée donnent chacun un rayon émergent qui forme un angle identique avec l’axe optique de celui du rayon incident. La distance NN’ est égale à la distance PP’ et on peut montrer que la distance FP est égale à la distance N’F’.

Les relations géométriques entre les points nodaux et les autres points cardinaux sont représentés sur le schéma suivant :

Schéma des points nodaux et focales

En valeur algébrique (distance positive vers la droite et négative vers la gauche) on peut poser: FN = P’F’ = f’ F’N’=F’P’ + P’N’ = NF + PN = PF =f PN =PF + FN = F’N’ + P’F’ = P’N’ = f+f’

 

En photographie, le point nodal postérieur est celui autour duquel il faut faire pivoter l’appareil si l’on souhaite prendre plusieurs clichés sans que leur position vis à vis du plan focal image ne se déplace.

Dans le cas de l’œil humain, le milieu image est le vitré (n=1.336), qui est différent du milieu de l’air (n=1). Pour un œil modèle standard, les points nodaux son situés de part et d’autre de la capsule postérieure du cristallin, en « arrière » (dans le sens de la propagation de la lumière) des points principaux P et P’

Représentation de la position des points nodaux de l'oeil humain

Pour un œil au repos (pas d’accommodation), les points nodaux N et N’ sont situés de part et d’autre de la cristalloide postérieure (capsule postérieure du cristallin). La distance N’F ’est estimée à 16.7 mm. La distance P’F’ est estimée proche de 22.3 mm, et la distance PN=P’N’ =5.6 mm. F est le foyer objet de l’œil: son image nette se formerait à l’infini (si la rétine ne s’interposait pas sur le chemin des rayon lumineux).

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *