+ +

Video: PKR (surface laser) step-by-step

The PKR (to sight refractive procedures) is an eye operation and a technique called "surface" used for low and medium myopia correction, associated or not to of theastigmatism. The correction of myopia and astigmatism is done jointly (laser photoablation). The PKR is particularly suitable for thin corneas, which the topographic characteristics (corneal topography) suggest that a maximum preservation of corneal Biomechanics is indicated. The absence of cutting of the flap (unlike the) LASIK) preserves a largest cornea thickness.

It starts with a stage of preparation of the corneal surface, intended to remove soft and precise central corneal epithelium. Firstly, the cornea is anesthetized by eye drops (drops). Once the patient has been installed under the microscope of the laser, and after local disinfection, one cylindrical applicator specifically designed for the PKR to apply a solution of medicinal alcohol diluted to 20 ° on the only central part of corneal epithelium, for 20 seconds. This diluted solution allows to cleave cell junctions between epithelium and superficial corneal stroma; the epithelium can be detached more easily. The centering of the applicator is made on the position of the pupil.

 

 

A small sponge to absorb the solution diluted in the applicator before withdrawal of it. The withdrawal of epithelium is exposed to the solution is made by preserving the ocular surface and the adjacent epithelium. The removal of the epithelium is done in a gentle manner, and applies only to the area required for exposure of the corneal stroma excimer laser.

Once the epithelium is removed, the surface of the superficial corneal stroma is exposed and ready to receive the laser radiation. The patient sets a green focus flashing, coaxial with optical laser beam. The start-up of the eye tracker allows to compensate the micro eye movements, and centered treatment during the delivery of laser radiation. The eye tracker is a complex system which films the eye to the frequency of 1024 frames per second! The high frequency of the excimer laser used (Wavelight Alcon EX 500 for 500 Hz or 500 shots per second) to reduce the duration of the photoablatif treatment. After rinsing with saline and application of antibiotic eye drops, a (non-corrective) bandage soft contact lens is placed on the cornea and left about 5 days.

PKR, the two eyes are usually made the same day successively.

CONSULT: the main page on the PKR

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Vidéo : PKR (laser de surface) par étapes

La PKR (photokératectomie à visée réfractive) est une opération des yeux et une technique dite « de surface » utilisée pour la correction de la myopie faible et moyenne, associée ou non à de l’astigmatisme. La correction de la myopie et de l’astigmatisme est effectuée conjointement (photoablation laser). La PKR est particulièrement indiquée pour les cornées fines, dont les caractéristiques topographiques (topographie cornéenne) suggèrent qu’une préservation maximale de la biomécanique cornéenne est indiquée. L’absence de découpe du capot (contrairement au LASIK) permet de préserver une épaisseur de cornée plus importante.

Elle débute par une étape de préparation de la surface cornéenne, destinée à retirer de manière douce et précise l’épithélium cornéen central. La cornée est tout d’abord anesthésiée par un collyre (gouttes). Une fois le patient installé sous le microscope du laser, et après désinfection locale, un applicateur cylindrique spécialement conçu pour la PKR permet d’appliquer une solution d’alcool médicinal dilué à 20° sur la seule partie centrale de l’épithélium cornéen, pendant 20 secondes. Cette solution diluée permet de cliver les jonctions cellulaires entre épithélium et stroma cornéen superficiel ; l’épithélium pourra être détaché plus facilement. Le centrage de l’applicateur est effectué sur la position de la pupille.

 

 

Une petite éponge permet d’absorber la solution diluée au sein de l’applicateur, avant retrait de celui-ci. Le retrait d’épithélium exposé à la solution est effectué en préservant la surface oculaire et l’épithélium adjacent. Le retrait de l’épithélium est effectué de manière douce, et ne concerne que la zone nécessaire à l’exposition du stroma cornéen au laser excimer.

Une fois l’épithélium retiré, la surface du stroma cornéen superficiel est exposée et prête à recevoir le rayonnement laser. Le patient fixe une mire verte clignotante, coaxiale avec le faisceau optique du laser. La mise en route de l’eye tracker permet de compenser les micro mouvements oculaires, et de bien centrer le traitement pendant toute la phase de délivrance du rayonnement laser. L’eye tracker est un système complexe qui filme l’oeil à la fréquence de 1024 images par secondes ! La fréquence élevée du laser excimer utilisé (Wavelight Alcon EX 500 pour 500 Hz soit 500 tirs par seconde) permet de réduire la durée du traitement photoablatif. Après rinçage au sérum physiologique et application d’un collyre antibiotique, une lentille de contact pansement souple (non correctrice) est placée sur la cornée et laissée 5 jours environ.

En PKR, les deux yeux sont généralement opérés le même jour successivement.

CONSULTER: la page principale consacrée à la PKR

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *