+ +

Postoperative care after PKR

PKR: after the operation

This page is dedicated to the chronological description of evolution observed by most patients after completion of the PKR for the correction of myopia.

-1 mn after PKR:

The vision is already changed and improved: despite a feeling of slight blur, sail, linked to the drops instilled the end of PKR, uncorrected Visual acuity is already significantly higher than, especially if a bandage lens was asked (which is recommended and performed by most surgeons after PKR). There is still pain, the most a small feeling of local discomfort at the level of one eye or both.

-5 minutes after PKR

The veil display appears or persists, along with a local feel of gene or foreign body. Intermittent tearing may appear; the effects of anesthesia by drops (eye before and during the PKR) decrease little by little...

-1 h to 2 h after PKR :

The feeling of discomfort persists and can become a pain, which is similar to printing to a local 'burn'. A tearing, and the appearance of a swelling of the eyelids are frequent. Taking tablets of painkillers, and keeping the eyes closed to alleviate these symptoms. The instillation of artificial tears can also bring relief. Vision is usually more blurred than in the immediate course of the intervention, with fluctuations (sharper vision intermittently).

-a few hours after PKR, overnight

The sensation of gene culminates the first day, and then gradually decreases. Overnight, must wear protection hulls to avoid touching the eyes of untimely or unconsciously, but as the PKR does not the realization of a flap, the surface of the eye is less 'fragile' towards mechanical trauma after LASIK.

-the aftermath of the PKR

Wake up, vision can be blurry, but this blur is different from that of before the surgery. It looks like the blur that would cause dirty or fogged lenses. The instillation of artificial tears can more easily open your eyes. The pain gave way to a gene that fades gradually. Vision fluctuates, and brutal sensations of 'gene', or tearing of one eye and then the other are possible. The vision can be uneven between the eyes, and reverse (the vision of the right eye or the left eye being alternately sharper).

-the first days after PKR

The vision continues to improve in the first days, but with fluctuations. To the 5 day around, it is possible to remove the lenses of protection, to the occaseion of the control to the ophthalmologist.  This occaseion control of Visual acuity allows to measure acuity without correction the most often understood between 6/10 and 10/10 (depending on the initial degree of myopia, etc.). However, patients report a feeling of slight blur, which dissipates gradually during the first 15 days approximately. The recovery of a professional activity is possible from the 4th or 5th day. Treatment with eye drops continued during the first 3 weeks. The port of tinted glasses (sunglasses) is strongly recommended outdoors in case of intense or prolonged sunshine. It is possible to take a shower, taking a few precautions (do not point the shower spray in eyes). The vision improves continuously during the first weeks, and to stabilize towards the end of the first month. Makeup can be resumed after ten days.

 

 

2 Responses to "operating Suites after PKR"

  1. wadad says:

    Good evening. After 15 days is it normal to see a shadow around a panmap letters or numbers of a car licence? near vision is widely affected, after 5 minutes on the pages of a book or on pc reading becomes impossible, I'm 40, do I wear glasses for protection or reading? Thanks for your help I'm lost.

  2. Asma says:

    Hello Wadad, I will soon be operated by PKR. Did your eyesight recover correctly? Thanks in advance

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

+ +

Suites opératoires après PKR

PKR : après l’opération

Cette page est consacrée à la description chronologique de l’évolution constatée par la plupart des patients après réalisation de la PKR pour la correction de la myopie.

– 1 mn après PKR :

La vision est déjà modifiée et améliorée: malgré une sensation de léger flou, de voile, liée aux gouttes instillées à la fin de l’opération PKR, l’acuité visuelle non corrigée est déjà nettement plus élevée, surtout si une lentille pansement a été posée (ce qui est recommandé et effectué par la plupart des chirurgiens après PKR). Il n’y a pas encore de douleurs, au plus une petite sensation de gêne locale au niveau d’un œil ou les deux.

– 5 mn après PKR

Le voile visuel apparait ou persiste, accompagné d’une sensation locale de gêne ou corps étranger. Un larmoiement intermittent peut apparaître; les effets de l’anesthésie par gouttes (instillées avant et pendant la PKR) diminuent peu à peu…

-1 h à 2h après PKR :

La sensation de gêne persiste et peut se muer en douleurs, qui s’apparente à l’impression d’une  « brulure » locale. Un larmoiement, et l’apparition d’un gonflement des paupières sont fréquent. La prise de comprimés d’antalgiques, et le fait de garder les yeux fermés permettent d’atténuer ces symptômes. L’instillation de larmes artificielles peut également apporter un soulagement. La vision est généralement plus floue  qu’au décours immédiat de l’intervention, avec des fluctuations (vision plus nette par intermittence).

– quelques heures après PKR, jusqu’au lendemain

La sensation de gêne culmine le premier jour, puis diminue  progressivement. La nuit, il faut porter des coques de protection afin d’éviter de se toucher les yeux de manière intempestive ou inconsciente, mais comme la PKR ne comporte pas la réalisation d’un capot, la surface de l’œil est moins « fragile » vis à vis d’un traumatisme mécanique qu’après LASIK.

– le lendemain de la PKR

Au réveil, la vision peut encore être floue, mais ce flou est différent de celui d’avant l’intervention; il ressemble au flou que provoqueraient des lentilles sales ou embuées. L’instillation de larmes artificielles permet d’ouvrir plus facilement les yeux. Les douleurs font place à une gêne qui s’estompe progressivement. La vision fluctue encore, et des sensations brutales de « gêne », ou un larmoiement d’un œil, puis l’autre sont possibles. La vision peut être inégale entre les yeux, et s’inverser (la vision de l’œil droit ou l’œil gauche étant alternativement plus nette).

– les premiers jours après PKR

La vision continue de s’améliorer au cours des premiers jours, mais avec de fluctuations. Au 5 e jour environ, il est possible de retirer les lentilles de protection, à l’occasion du contrôle chez l’ophtalmologiste.  A cette occasion, le contrôle de l’acuité visuelle permet de mesurer une acuité sans correction le plus souvent comprise entre 6/10e et 10/10e (selon le degré de myopie initial, etc.). Les patients signalent toutefois une impression de léger flou, qui se dissipe progressivement au cours des 15 premiers jours environ. La reprise d’une activité professionnelle est possible dès le 4e ou 5e jour. Un traitement par collyre est poursuivi au cours des 3 premières semaines environ. Le port de verres teintés (lunettes de soleil) est fortement recommandé à l’extérieur en cas d’ensoleillement intense ou prolongé. Il est possible de se doucher, en prenant quelques précautions (ne pas diriger le jet de douche dans les yeux). La vision s’améliore continuellement au cours des premières semaines, et se stabilise vers la fin du premier mois. Le maquillage peut être repris au bout d’une dizaine de jours.

 

 

Une réponse à “Suites opératoires après PKR”

  1. wadad dit :

    Bonsoir. Après 15 jours est il normal de voir une ombre autour des lettres d’une pancarte ou les chiffres d’un immatriculation de voiture? la vision de près est largement affectée, après 5 minutes la lecture sur les pages d’un livre ou sur pc devient impossible, j’ai 40ans, dois je porter des lunettes de protection ou de lecture? Merci de m’aider je suis perdue.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *