+ +

Review aberrometrique (OPD)

Reviewing aberrometrique allows the objective study of the optical quality of the eye.

It allows the collection of the Wavefront, and study the optical aberrations that distort it, depending on the diameter of the pupil.

Pages dedicated to clinical examples of use of the OPD.

 

OPD: definition

The OPD includes optical analysis techniques, which were initially used in non-medical disciplines such as astronomy in order to better understand and correct the imperfection of optical telescopes. The reduction in the cost of the opto-electronic components has allowed to develop over the past 10 years of the aberrometres easy to use and affordable for the study of the optical properties of the eye. The aberrometer is a measuring instrument which, applied to the eye, for measuring the optical quality.

Aberrometer OPD SCAN III

Aberrometer OPD SCAN III (Nidek, Japan). This aberrometer is also fitted with a corneal topographic data acquisition device (Placido topographer)

Benefits of the measure by OPD

In ophthalmology, the aberrometric will detect and quantify some optical defects whose eye is tainted even when is corrected with glasses or contact lenses. "" Not measurable and quantifiable before the appearance of the OPD in ophthalmology, these optical defects were grouped under the term of "irregular astigmatism. Their presence was suspected when a patient complained to ' blur ', especially in certain circumstances, despite an optimal correction in its refractive defect bezel (ex: myopia and astigmatism). Reviewing aberrometrique allows you to correlate visual symptoms (like double vision by monocular) with a special optical anomaly (ex: coma). The OPD is based on the study of ocular wave-front. His interest is twofold: qualify and quantify aberrations of high level measured at the breast of the wave-front.

Indications of the OPD

The OPD is indicated to explore the causes of reduced quality of vision: it allows the exploration stage optical vision, which begins with the corneal penetration of the light emitted by the object observed and ends with its interaction to the level of the photosensitive retinal pigments. The symptoms of appeal are related to the degradation of the optical quality of the eye corrected for the refractive optical defect (myopia, hyperopia, astigmatism). Their cause may be made of the cornea or the lens.

Symptoms induced aberrations of high degree

Not correctable by glasses optical defects are essentially perceived by the patient during certain vision conditions)vision in the dark = mesopic vision). They induce the perception of Visual as symptoms the halos, the presence of "bright spicules" goshawks of bright lights, the perception of"ghosting". "(ex: a line of subtitle of film in VO is seen as split). They are most frequently found in patients with abnormalities of curvature or regularity in eye refractive surfaces (horny, crystalline). They increase when the pupil expands (which occurs when the ambient brightness decreases: the night of course, but also in a room little lit, etc...).

Causes of aberrations of high degree

Deformations of the cornea are a classic source of high degree aberrations: patients with old techniques of refractive surgery such as the radial keratotomy, patients with Keratoconus, corneal trauma victims, or who received a cornea transplant are often those who found a higher rate of optical aberrations of high degree.

Optical aberrations of high degree can also come from the lens, especially when it is clouds. Nuclear cataract is a common cause of elevation of certain optical aberrations of high degree (negative spherical aberration, trefoil, etc.). The conventional OPD is based on the study of ocular wave-front. Instruments coupled with a topographer (ex: OPD SCAN, Nidek) to separately calculate the contribution of the cornea to the optical aberrations of high degree.

Characterization of the aberrations of high degree

The optical aberrations of high degree are quantified by an RMS (Root Mean Square) rate. This figure is calculated from the residual phase of ocular wave-front when the best correction bezel (the sphero-cylindrical defocus correction) is obtained. If it is zero (which never happens in practice), the eye is devoid of optical aberrations of high degree; There are no irregular astigmatism. The optical quality of such an eye is limited only by diffraction.

A RMS of aberrations of high rate zero corresponds to the presence of an irregular astigmatism. This rate depends on the pupillary diameter at which it was recorded. It tends to increase with this diameter, as pupillary dilation unmasks these refractive anomalies on the outskirts of the pupil in general.

Wavefront PSF HOA

Upstairs, the eye, whose refractive surfaces are symbolized by a single lens, focus (after correction possible cylindrical sphero unrepresented here) on the retina (the screen). The wave front is like a perfect spherical portion after refraction. This wave front converge at a point. All the rays (which represent the direction of local spread of the wave front) converge at a point on the retina (the diffraction is neglected). The PSF (Point Spread Function) is one-time (to nearly diffraction). Downstairs, there are aberrations of high degree; some peripheral rays are not exactly focused as the Central rays. This is related to the phase of the wave front (which has some "offsets" with the wave of spherical as reference at the top front). These shifts are related to the presence of aberrations of high degree (High Order Aberration: HOA). These aberrations are themselves related to imperfections corneal or cristalliniennes. The PSF is degraded; the stigma is reduced, the quality of the retinal image is altered. The offsets are advances or delays in phase (bottom left, the Wavefront in Cup is represented with the ideal Wavefront: the "arrows" correspond to the offsets). A color code to represent them (phase advance: hot, delay phase color: cool color). RMS is calculated from these shifts (it is the square root of the average of the sum of the phase shifts squared, making the square to escape problems of signs: this calculation is equivalent to that of a standard deviation for a parameter in a population statistics).

The presence of aberrations of high degree corresponds in practice to the existence of a focus of the imperfect light and even in optimal correction of myopia and astigmatism regular case. The effect of these aberrations appears especially in case of pupillary dilation. Positive spherical aberration induced for example a deterioration in the quality of the retinal image resulting in practice in the induction of Visual "halos".

PSF positive spherical aberration

Aberrometry and custom laser corrections

The realization of a photoablatif laser treatment (ex: conventional myopic LASIK) on a optical size box too reduced or offset can also be the source of an increased rate of optical aberrations of high degree. Performed LASIK procedures there are ten years did not have the same degree of passive safety that today ' today, and were often issued on optical areas closer than today ' hui. At the time, there were few aberrometres to achieve common measures in clinical practice.

Today, the measure of the IRIS pupil is performed accurately by the aberrometer, as well as the rate of optical aberrations not correctable by glasses (ie the aberrations of high degree) from the preoperative consultation. When they have a higher than normal rate and / or are responsible for a major gene that is perceived by the patient, a treatment of "personalized" or "custom". can be proposed. It is carried out in order to process these pre-existing optical aberrations in addition to the error of initial refraction (myopia, astigmatism, ect...).

In all case, the same treatment not personalized aims to minimize the induction of aberrations of high degree ; optimal balance, choice of the most suitable optical area, the pupil and the depth of ablation of laser treatment ect... The OPD used however to increase this level of customization and correct optical aberrations of high degree pre existing.

A mapping of the iris allows for example to access the photoablation with Iris recognition (ex: Zyoptix system). This technology is particularly interesting for the treatment of the strong astigmatismes. The footprint of the iris is scanned, then sent to the laser. This uses the map of the iris to align and Center the treatment during the intervention, for even greater accuracy of delivered treatment. Currently, it is possible to compensate for real-time movements recorded during the phase of laser correction, eye of translation and rotation.

 

Clinical examples of the interest of the OPD in ophthalmology are available on this link: OPD examples

2 Responses to "Aberrométrique Review (Aberrometry)"

  1. Came to 15/20 in September in consultation. Undiscovered Pathology.
    The Doctor consilté me a Oqas in a possible next ausculation in January
    Symptoms:
    Halos and photosensitive + + +
    Strong light: Makes Rays like» Star»
    And in addition: more than two images in monoculars for each of the eyes

    Since June 2015 this multiplopy goes from Earth to the moon ...
    I practice artistic painting professionally! See my gene
    Thank you for your answer

  2. Dr. Damien Gatinel says:

    This examination is actually indicated, as your symptoms evoke the possibility of starting cataracts, or at least the presence of opacity sources of light scattering within the ocular environments. The OQAS will be able to learn more.

Leave a comment

You can ask questions or comment on this content: for this, use the "comments" form located below. The questions and comments of a general interest will be processed and published, and the information provided on the relevant pages should be clarified or supplemented.

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *

Examen aberrométrique (aberrométrie)

L’examen  aberrométrique permet l’étude objective de la qualité optique de l’œil.

Il permet le recueil du front d’onde, et d’étudier les aberrations optiques qui le déforment, en fonction du diamètre de la pupille.

Pages dédiées à des exemples cliniques d’utilisation de l’aberrométrie.

 

Aberrométrie : définition

L’aberrométrie regroupe les techniques d’analyse optique, qui ont été initialement utilisées dans des disciplines non médicales comme l’Astronomie afin de mieux comprendre et corriger les imperfection optiques des télescopes. La réduction du coût des composants opto-électroniques a permit de développer au cours des 10 dernières années des aberromètres faciles d’utilisation et abordable pour l’étude des propriétés optiques de l’œil. L’aberromètre est un instrument de mesure qui, appliqué à l’oeil, permet d’en mesurer la qualité optique.

Aberromètre OPD SCAN III

Aberromètre OPD SCAN III (Nidek, Japon). Cet aberromètre est également muni d’un dispositif d’acquisition de données topographiques cornéennes (topographe de Placido)

Intérêt de la mesure par aberrométrie

En ophtalmologie, l’aberromètre permet de détecter et quantifier certains défauts optiques dont l’œil est entaché même quand on le corrige au mieux avec des lunettes ou des lentilles de contact. Non mesurables et quantifiables avant l’apparition de l’aberrométrie en ophtalmologie, ces défauts optiques étaient regroupés sous le vocable d' »astigmatisme irrégulier ». Leur présence était suspectée quand un patient se plaignait de « voir flou », en particulier dans certaines circonstances, malgré une correction optimale en lunette de son défaut réfractif (ex: myopie et astigmatisme). L’examen aberrométrique permet de corréler certains symptômes visuels (comme une vision double en monoculaire) avec une anomalie optique particulière (ex : coma). L’aberrométrie repose sur l’étude du front d’onde oculaire. Son intérêt est double : qualifier et quantifier les aberrations de haut degré mesurés au seins du front d’onde.

Indications de l’aberrométrie

L’aberrométrie est indiquée pour explorer les causes de réduction de la qualité de vision: elle permet d’explorer l’étape optique de la vision, qui débute avec la pénétration cornéenne de  la lumière émise par l’objet observé et se termine avec son interaction au niveau des pigments rétiniens photosensibles. Les symptômes d’appel sont liés à la dégradation de la qualité optique de l’oeil corrigé au mieux pour les défaut optique réfractif (myopie, hypermétropie, astigmatisme). Leur cause peut émaner de la cornée ou du cristallin.

Symptômes induits par les aberrations de haut degré

Les défauts optiques non corrigibles en lunettes  sont essentiellement perçus par le patient lors de certaines conditions de vision (vision dans la pénombre = vision mésopique). Ils induisent la perception de symptômes visuels comme les halos, la présence de « spicules lumineux » autours des lumières vives, la perception d’« images fantômes » (ex: une ligne de sous-titre de film en VO est perçue comme dédoublée). Ils sont plus fréquemment retrouvés chez les patients dont les surfaces réfractives oculaires (cornée, cristallin) présentent des anomalies de courbure ou de régularité. Ils augmentent quand la pupille se dilate (ce qui survient quand la luminosité ambiante diminue: la nuit bien sûr, mais également dans une pièce peu éclairée, etc…).

Causes d’aberrations de haut degré

Les déformations acquises de la cornée sont une source classique d’aberrations de haut degré : les patients opérés avec d’anciennes techniques de chirurgie réfractive comme la kératotomie radiaire, les patients atteints de kératocône,  victimes de traumatisme cornéen, ou ayant bénéficié d’une greffe de cornée sont souvent ceux chez qui l’on retrouve un taux plus élevé d’aberrations optiques de haut degré.

Les aberrations optiques de haut degré peuvent également provenir du cristallin, en particulier quand celui-ci s’opacifie. La cataracte nucléaire est une cause fréquente d’élévation de certaines aberrations optiques de haut degré (aberration sphérique négative, trefoil, etc.). L’aberrométrie conventionnelle est fondée sur l’étude du front d’onde oculaire. Les instruments couplés avec un topographe (ex : OPD SCAN, Nidek) permettent de calculer séparément la contribution de la cornée au aberrations optiques de haut degré.

Caractérisation des aberrations de haut degré

Les aberrations optiques de haut degré sont quantifiées par un taux dit RMS (Root Mean Square). Ce chiffre est calculé à partir du déphasage résiduel du front d’onde oculaire quand la meilleure correction lunette (correction du défocus sphéro-cylindrique) est obtenue. S’il est nul (ce qui n’arrive jamais en pratique), l’oeil est dépourvu d’aberrations optiques de haut degré ; il n’y a pas d’astigmatisme irrégulier. La qualité optique d’un tel oeil n’est limitée que par la diffraction.

Un taux RMS d’aberrations de haut degré non nul correspond à la présence d’un astigmatisme irrégulier. Ce taux dépend du diamètre pupillaire auquel il a été enregistré. Il tend à augmenter avec ce diamètre, puisque la dilatation pupillaire démasque en général les anomalies réfractives présentes à la périphérie de la pupille.

Front d'onde PSF HOA

En haut, l’œil, dont les surfaces réfractive sont symbolisées par une lentille unique, focalise (après correction sphéro cylindrique éventuelle non représentée ici) sur la rétine (l’écran). Le front d’onde est assimilable à une parfaite portion sphérique après réfraction. Ce front d’onde converge en un point. Tous les rayons (qui représentent la direction de propagation locale du front d’onde) convergent en un point sur la rétine (la diffraction est négligée). La PSF (Point Spread Function) est ponctuelle (à la diffraction près). En bas, il existe des aberrations de haut degré; certains rayons périphériques ne sont pas focalisés exactement comme les rayons centraux. Ceci est lié au déphasage du front d’onde (qui présente certains « décalages » avec le front d’onde de référence sphérique comme en haut). Ces décalages sont liés à la présences d’aberrations de haut degré (High Order Aberration: HOA). Ces aberrations sont elles-mêmes liées à des imperfections cornéennes ou cristalliniennes. La PSF est dégradée; le stigmatisme est réduit, la qualité de l’image rétinienne est altérée. Les décalages sont des avances ou des retards de phase (en bas à gauche, le front d’onde en coupe est représenté vis-à-vis du front d’onde idéal: les « flèches » correspondent aux décalages). Un code couleur permet de les représenter (avance de phase : couleur chaude, retard de phase : couleur froide). Le taux RMS est calculé à partir de ces décalages (c’est la racine carrée de la moyenne de la somme des déphasages mis au carré, la mise au carré permettant de s’affranchir des problèmes de signes: ce calcul est équivalent à celui d’un écart type pour un paramètre dans une population en statistiques).

La présence d’aberrations de haut degré correspond en pratique à l’existence d’une focalisation de la lumière imparfaite, et ce même en cas de correction optimale de la myopie et de l’astigmatisme régulier. L’effet de ces aberrations apparaît surtout en cas de dilatation pupillaire. L’aberration sphérique positive induit par exemple une dégradation de la qualité de l’image rétinienne qui résulte en pratique en l’induction de « halos » visuels.

PSF aberration sphérique positive

Aberrométrie et corrections laser personnalisées

La réalisation d’un traitement laser photoablatif (ex : LASIK myopique conventionnel)  sur une zone optique de taille trop réduite et/ou décentrée peut également être à l’origine d’un taux accru d’aberrations optiques de haut degré. Les procédures LASIK effectuée il y a une dizaine d’années ne bénéficiaient pas du même degré de sécurité passive qu’aujourd’hui, et étaient souvent délivrées sur des zones optiques plus étroites qu’aujourd’hui. A l’époque, il existait peu  d’aberromètres permettant de réaliser des mesures courantes en pratique clinique.

Aujourd’hui, la mesure de la pupille irienne est effectuée avec précision par l’aberromètre, ainsi que le taux des aberrations optiques non corrigibles en lunettes (c’est à dire  les aberrations de haut degré) dès la consultation préopératoire. Quand celles-ci ont un taux supérieur à la normale et/ ou sont responsables d’une gêne importante perçue par le patient, un traitement dit « personnalisé » ou « customisé » peut être proposé. Il est effectué afin de traiter ces aberrations optiques préexistantes en plus de l’erreur de réfraction initiale (myopie, astigmatisme, ect…).

Dans tous les cas, le traitement même non personalisé vise à limiter au maximum l’induction des aberrations de haut degré ; centrage optimal, choix de la zone optique la plus adaptée à la pupille et la profondeur d’ablation du traitement laser, ect… L’utilisation de l’aberrométrie permet cependant d’accroître ce niveau de personnalisation et de corriger les aberrations optiques de haut degré pré existantes.

La réalisation d’une cartographie de l’iris permet par exemple d’accéder à la photoablation avec reconnaissance irienne (ex : système Zyoptix). Cette technologie est particulièrement intéressante pour le traitement des forts astigmatismes. L’empreinte de l’iris est numérisée, puis transmise au laser. Celui-ci utilise la carte de l’iris pour aligner et centrer le traitement lors de l’intervention, pour une précision encore accrue du traitement délivré. Actuellement, il est possible de compenser en temps réel les mouvements oculaires de translation et de rotation, enregistrés durant la phase de correction laser.

 

Des exemples cliniques illustrant l’intérêt de l’aberrométrie en ophtalmologie sont disponibles sur ce lien : aberrométrie exemples

2 réponses à “Examen aberrométrique (aberrométrie)”

  1. Venu au 15/20 en septembre en consultation . Pathologie non découverte.
    Le médecin consilté me propose une Oqas lors d une prochaine ausculation possible en janvier
    Symptômes :
    Halos et photosensible+++
    Lumière forte: fait rayons comme  » étoile »
    Et en plus : plus de deux images en monoculaires pour chacun des yeux

    Depuis juin 2015 cette multiplopie va de la terre à la lune…
    Je pratique professionnellement la peinture artistique ! Voyez ma gène
    Merci de votre réponse

  2. Dr Damien Gatinel dit :

    Cet examen est effectivement indiqué, car vos symptômes évoquent la possibilité d’une cataracte débutante, ou du moins la présence d’opacité sources de diffusion lumineuse au sein des milieux oculaires. L’OQAS permettra d’en savoir plus.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *