+ +

cataract

D Gatinel.Qu' is a clear lens? Ophthalmological realities, March 2012

Clear lens or cataract? Cataract diagnosis is based on the combination of Visual symptoms and signs of the biomicroscope (slit lamp) examinations. The variability of the Visual signs of cataracts (loss of Visual acuity, but also glare, difficulties against day), as well as the anatomical continuum that connects clear lens and advanced cataract are [...]

Learn more

Refractive multifocal implant

Justification of the OPD for the study of multifocal implants. The OPD allows the study of the optical quality of the eye in detail, which is a definite advantage for the operated eyes of cataract with multifocal implant. In particular, the study of multifocal implants of refractive type is particularly advantageous. The principle of these implants is based on [...]

Learn more

Cataract and laser femtosecond VICTUS™ platform

VICTUS platform: description the VICTUS platform was originally developed by the company Technolas Perfect Vision (Munich, Germany), and is currently jointly proposed for cataract surgery by the firm of Bausch & Lomb. It is one of the 4 main platforms currently proposed for the realization of the [...] assisted cataract surgery

Learn more

Index myopia

The myopia of the index is defined as a myopia caused (or accentuated if the eye was previously reached Axile myopia) by an increase in the power of the Crystalline lens. It is mainly encountered during the evolution of a nuclear cataract (clouding of the nucleus of the Crystalline lens). This myopia is linked to an increase in the optical power of [...]

Learn more

Femtosecond laser cataract surgery

Femtosecond and cataract: justification the femtosecond laser can cut the eye tissue. It is commonly used in refractive surgery (ex: laser Wavelight FS 200), where it can create covers of LASIK. Its use for cataract surgery is still confidential, and even if some platforms are available for purchase [...]

Learn more

Toric implant

Toric implant: A toric implant definition allows to correct astigmatism after cataract surgery. More than 40% of the operated eyes of cataract present a regular corneal astigmatism greater than 1 diopter. To improve Visual acuity by the eye surgery without glasses, it makes sense to consider the correction of astigmatism of the cornea by [...]

Learn more

Multifocal implant

Multifocal implant: definition a multifocal implant is an implant to several homes, to correct more than a distance of vision after cataract surgery (ex: distance vision, vision for bifocal implants, and intermediate vision plus with trifocals implants which tend to become the benchmark for multifocalite). The [...]

Learn more

Monofocal implant

Intra ocular implant cataract surgery during the cataract surgery, remove the lens that is clouded and causes Visual discomfort. Monofocal implant (monofocal implant) are intended to compensate for the strong farsightedness which would be induced if you did not compensate the reduction of optical power ' vergence) related [...]

Learn more

OPD: Beginner cataract

A patient has a sense of decreased vision of one eye (right eye), while his acuity is 10/10 without correction and 12/10 with a very slight correction of nearsighted astigmatism: Plan (-0.25 x 0 °). The patient reports some symptoms consistent with those of a beginner cataract (glare, difficulty on day). A review at [...]

Learn more

What is the OQAS instrument?

OQAS (Optical Quality Analyzing System, designed by the Spanish company Visiometrics) is an instrument that provides the direct measure of the combined effect of optical aberrations of high degree and the loss of transparency of the eye circles on the optical quality of the eye. It is of major interest in cataract surgery, but [...]

Learn more

+ +

cataracte

D Gatinel.Qu’est-ce qu’un cristallin clair? Réalités Ophtalmologiques, Mars 2012

Cristallin clair ou cataracte? Le diagnostic de la cataracte repose sur la conjonction de symptômes visuels et de signes d’examens au biomicroscope (lampe à fente). La variabilité des signes visuels de cataracte (baisse d’acuité visuelle, mais aussi éblouissements, difficultés en contre jour), ainsi que le continuum anatomique qui relie cristallin clair et cataracte avancée posent […]

En savoir plus

Implant multifocal réfractif

Justification de l’aberrométrie pour l’étude des implants multifocaux. L’aberrométrie permet l’étude de la qualité optique de l’oeil de manière détaillée, ce qui constitue un avantage certain pour les yeux opérés de cataracte avec implant multifocal. En particulier, l’étude des implants multifocaux de type réfractif est particulièrement avantageuse. Le principe même de ces implants repose sur […]

En savoir plus

Cataracte et plateforme laser femtoseconde VICTUS™

Plateforme VICTUS : description La plateforme VICTUS a été initialement développée par la société Technolas Perfect Vision (Munich, Allemagne), et est actuellement proposée conjointement pour la chirurgie de la cataracte par la firme Bausch & Lomb. Il s’agit d’une des 4 principales plateformes actuellement proposées pour la réalisation de la chirurgie de la cataracte assistée […]

En savoir plus

Myopie d’indice

La myopie d’indice est définie comme une myopie causée (ou accentuée si l’oeil était auparavant atteint de myopie axile) par une augmentation de la puissance du cristallin. Elle se rencontre essentiellement au cours de l’évolution d’une cataracte nucléaire (opacification du noyau du cristallin). Cette myopisation est liée à une augmentation de la puissance optique de […]

En savoir plus

Chirurgie de la cataracte au laser femtoseconde

Femtoseconde et cataracte: justification Le laser femtoseconde permet de découper les tissus oculaires. Il est utilisé couramment en chirurgie réfractive (ex : le laser Wavelight FS 200), où il permet de créer des capots de LASIK. Son utilisation pour la chirurgie de la cataracte est encore confidentielle, et même si certaines plateformes sont disponibles à l’achat […]

En savoir plus

Implant torique

Implant torique : définition Un implant torique permet de corriger l’astigmatisme après chirurgie de la cataracte. Plus de 40% des yeux opérés de cataracte présentent un astigmatisme cornéen régulier supérieur à 1 Dioptrie. Pour améliorer l’acuité visuelle obtenue par l’oeil opéré sans lunettes, il est logique d’envisager la correction de l’astigmatisme de la cornée par […]

En savoir plus

Implant multifocal

Implant multifocal: définition Un implant multifocal est un implant à plusieurs foyers, pour corriger plus d’une distance de vision après chirurgie de la cataracte (ex: vision de loin, vision de près pour les implants bifocaux, et vision intermédiaire en sus avec les implants trifocaux qui tendent à devenir la référence en matière de multifocalité). Les […]

En savoir plus

Implant monofocal

Implant intra oculaire en chirurgie de la cataracte Au cours de la chirurgie de la cataracte, on retire le cristallin qui est opacifié et provoque la gêne visuelle. Les implants monofocaux (implant monofocal) sont destinés à compenser la forte hypermétropie qui serait induite si l’on ne compensait pas la réduction du pouvoir optique  ‘vergence) liée […]

En savoir plus

Aberrométrie : cataracte débutante

Un patient présente une sensation de baisse de la vision d’un œil (œil droit), alors que son acuité est de 10/10 sans correction et 12/10 avec une très légère correction d’astigmatisme myopique : plan (-0.25 x 0°). Le patient signale quelques symptômes compatibles avec ceux d’une cataracte débutante (éblouissements, difficultés en contre jour). A l’examen à […]

En savoir plus

A quoi sert l’instrument OQAS ?

L’OQAS (Optical Quality Analyzing System, conçu par la société  espagnole Visiometrics) est un instrument qui fournit la mesure directe de l’effet conjugué des aberrations optiques de haut degré et de la perte de la transparence des milieux oculaires sur la qualité optique de l’oeil. Il est d’un intérêt majeur en chirurgie de la cataracte, mais […]

En savoir plus